DECISION 10/13 Chester's PMPS 227

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

Good job Chester. Woohooo.

Hoping for some good numbers today for Mr. Chester.

Enjoy your day off.
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

I saw you had some excitement last night. Yay for green :mrgreen:
Have a good day off, and I hope you get to catch up on some sleep.
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

Thanks! Wish the day off wasn't because I've made myself sick by not getting enough sleep!
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

Glad to see this yellow...and last night was so pretty with the blues and greens. But Jaye, your SS shows some notations that I don't understand...you and +11.25 under the number in the +6 box, right and then two hours later, you wrote something about +7 something...what do they mean? You know, under the BG numbers.
Glad you are home today...maybe some naps in between tests? ;-)
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

so glad to see this yellow amps for you guys!! I hope chester rolls on down today and you see some more greens! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

hope you feel better today...catnapping has become popular round my place...

nice action last night...

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

Pat.... I see what you mean, no wonder it's confusing! I think I was 2/3 asleep and got the + number mixed up with the actual time! Fixed it, I think.

Back to bed for me!
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

And, I think that PM 104 was at +8.5 (not +7.5)

Great job last night. I hope Chester keeps this up.
 
Re: 10/13 Chester's +11=252, AMPS 286

Sienne and Gabby said:
And, I think that PM 104 was at +8.5 (not +7.5)

Great job last night. I hope Chester keeps this up.

Thanks, me too!

The 104 was at +7.5 which, on our schedule, is 1:00 a.m.
 
Folks,

After much, MUCH thought and a long discussion with my DH and my vet, I've come to a conclusion about my treatment of Chester's diabetes and feel that, in light of all the wonderful help, concern, and advice I've received at this site, I need to share...

I was asked about a week ago what my goal for Chester was and I've come to realize that it's not the same as the goal of the FDMB. I need to have Chester in a safe range, below the renal threshold for the vast part of his days and nights, but I also need to be able to function. After another night of complete lost sleep worrying that Chester might drop low after a quick drop from the 400's to the 100's I've had to take off from work again with just being too exhausted and, frankly, sick from it to function. I won't even get into how the stress of this has impacted my relationship with DH, who is super supportive but isn't happy with the stress and lack of sleep I've been under.

My vet and I have discussed this at length and she is, in fact, in agreement with virtually everything that I've shared with her about the protocol except possibly the part about a cat going into remission after a couple of months as a diabetic. Frankly, since I don't know if I have the courage to get Chester to that point anyway, being deadly afraid of those low greens, that part of the protocol isn't something I'm actively hoping for.

She has studied Chester's spreadsheet daily and sees a trend with him that tells her (and me, as well) that on the 1.5 units that we've raised to, he's likely to start getting lower than I am comfortable with soon. Although she agrees that jumping around with doses isn't how this insulin works, she is worried that if I stay on this dose I'll be prompted to intervene with HC again and we'll be high again.... back into the cycle. Chester is not a good grazer. I have to feel comfortable leaving him alone during the day and be able to sleep at night.

So, all that being said, I want you to know that I truly appreciate the time I've spent here. I've learned a lot from reading the stickies, feel that I'm prepared in the event of a hypo, and that is a huge comfort. I'll be checking in to see how others are doing, hopefully still learning things (like the fact that Lactulose is almost all sugar!) but will be suspending active updating on Chester's condo (although I'll still keep his spreadsheet very up-do-date). I feel I'm not being honest to the spirit of this website if I stay and don't actively work toward remission.

I'm aware that many (most) will disagree with this decision, but ask that you respect it.

Thank you for your support,

Jaye and Chester
 
(((Jaye))) I think most of us understand more than you know. Take care of yourself. I hope you feel comfortable enough to post as often as you like. No stress, no judgments, we care about you. There may be some questions you'll have at some point and someone can help out.

Or just post for a little support, we can do that for sure. (((Hugs)))

A healthy kitty (and bean) is the number one priority; remission is just a sometimes bonus.
 
I completely agree with what CD posted. There are any number of people here, especially some of the "old timers" who visit, who's cats, in all likelihood, will not reach remission. Their goal is tight regulation which, if I understand what you're saying, is what you'd like to do. We will do our best to help you with that.

If it's any consolation, the first month of two of this journey are probably the hardest. There is so much information to assimilate. It's overwhelming.

Just let us know how we can help.
 
(((Jaye))) I realize how upsetting this has been with your work schedule and all that this involves. I hope that you and your vet will work closely together and reach a dose that you feel will keep Chester in the range you are aiming for. I understand and I appreciate your explaining it to us all here.
(I do hope you will still check him as well as you have been doing while here.)
You know we are here for you and would love to see you. Feel free to come back and to visit and whatever!
Now Chester...be good for your Mama....no surprises, okay? :mrgreen: (cats do have a mind of their own, right...?)
cat_pet_icon Take good care of each other, okay? :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Jaye, I hope you know that you are always welcome here, and that we will always welcome updates on you and Chester. Please take care of yourself, and DH, and that beautiful boy of yours. Hope to see you dropping in from time to time at least. :YMHUG:
 
I'm usually here in the mornings, in case you ever need a bit of support, or have a simple question. I will miss your early morning posts.
You know what to do. Keep testing.
 
Just want to let you know how very much I can relate and understand for in my beginning days I felt the exact same way I once told D I never wanted Do Lou in green for he had gone hypo once at 43 when on Novolin but then of course this all changed for us anyway yes I am exhausted many days but I will have to admit that remission is my goal if not for any reason to get more of my freedom back since I am the only tester and shot give of my boy so I just want to let you know that we all support you no matter what and like Sienne says those first couple of months are really the toughest and as time goes by you may or may not change how you feel but always remember we are here to support you since thats what this place is for ((((((HUGS))))))
 
It has been very stressful for you. That part was obvious to all of us. I hope you'll come back from time to time and keep us up on how y'all are doing. If you have little questions from time to time, pop back in. We'll be glad to see you. And just to throw this out for you to think about - it is important to feel that you have a support group as you and Chester go through this and there have been others in the past that find they are more comfortable posting over on the Health board and they like the more relaxed atmosphere there. When you and Chester get your land legs under you, you may want to chat with some understanding folks who walk in your same shoes and FDMB will be here. Good luck to you guys. :-D
 
We'll be here whenever you need us. Indeed, you are not alone. I'm lucky, I'm retired and have the time, but I still question myself. I often wonder how long I can keep this up, then she cones and settles in my lap and licks my chin. I'm a woose. :?
 
Jaye

The bottom line is you have to do what's best for you and Chester and everyone here will support your decision. Only you live in your shoes...not us. I know what you are going through...I'm trying to work and do this with Gracie and it has consumed our lives...exhaustion reins supreme right now. I am fortunate because my boss is a cat lover and I can work from home but it would be grossly different for us if I couldn't. Just know you and Chester are always a part of the group and we all wish you the very, very best. Pls let us know how he's doing when you can.
 
i'm getting to this condo late...but couldnt say it any better than the rest already have...you and chester are a team, and it's only livable if both members of the team are healthy and happy. i think something that went unsaid in your post is that you somehow feel you are taking a "lesser" road in chester's care, and nothing could be further from the truth.

i can't imagine anyone disagreeing with your decision...and can only hope that we hear from you bout the big guy!

best of luck to you both-

celi and the silly kitten
 
You've come a long way, and your vet has come right along with you. I'm so happy with how well Chester is doing.

Many of us strive for "below renal threshold, but safe" - keeping your cat healthy is the first priority. You've become very knowledgable in how to manage the sugar dance, but I hope you check in from time to time. We've gotten to know you and Chester and look forward to updates.

Scritches to your precious boy.
 
You have to do what you can to keep your cat healthy AND live your life. Nobody can fault you if that means Chester stays a bit higher than other cats here - he is still in good hands and being well taken care of! :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top