Decide vacation dose - Noah 28/12 - amps 10.4

From today's data, of course, it looks like he will be safe on one unit while you are away... since he's in the yellows... and his blues from previous cycles have all been middle blues. It's looking like (from today's yellow numbers) that maybe his depot has drained a bit from the reduction to one unit... since he is now on his 5th cycle at 1 unit. The only other considerations are whether or not he will eat well when you are gone. Some cats do not eat well when their owners are gone.
 
Last edited:
Who is going to be caring for Noah? One of the considerations with a vacation dose is whether the person who will be administering your cat's insulin is comfortable with doses that aren't on a "line" on the syringe. You can always leave a sample syringe that is filled with a colored liquid so your petsitter has a model to compare to. I was a bit neurotic about Gabby's injection despite having very experienced petsitter and would leave a sample syringe and send a close-up photo of the syringe. (I've been around here a long time and have seen some bad mistakes made by someone who's been "helping" out with insulin dosing.)

You are welcome to look at Gabby's spreadsheet if you're looking for a model for vacation dosing. Gabby would not allow anyone except me to test (she was a diva!) so there's no test data from when I travelled. The travel dates are grayed out.
 
Who is going to be caring for Noah? One of the considerations with a vacation dose is whether the person who will be administering your cat's insulin is comfortable with doses that aren't on a "line" on the syringe. You can always leave a sample syringe that is filled with a colored liquid so your petsitter has a model to compare to. I was a bit neurotic about Gabby's injection despite having very experienced petsitter and would leave a sample syringe and send a close-up photo of the syringe. (I've been around here a long time and have seen some bad mistakes made by someone who's been "helping" out with insulin dosing.)

You are welcome to look at Gabby's spreadsheet if you're looking for a model for vacation dosing. Gabby would not allow anyone except me to test (she was a diva!) so there's no test data from when I travelled. The travel dates are grayed out.


Hello everyone
Yes today was a non active cycle …. But tomorrow I leave in the afternoon so I still have time to do a +2 and a +4

my pet sitter is my flatmate , she is being taking the glucose lots of time and she will be living here with him . She doesn’t give him so many attention as I do and Noah when I’m away seen being more stressed and needy ….
But I trust her and I was also thinking to prepare from now the siringes in the fridge with the correct dose just not to have mistake. Can I do that?

also she always text me with the amps and pmps to double check with me before she inject .
We can take the final decision tomorrow morning about the dose ? But until now seem 1 unit safe …. But we can double check how will be his curve tonight ….
 
No, you are actually not supposed to prepare syringes of insulin ahead of time. Since she is your friend and flatmate and she can text you with the numbers, she could also text you a close up photograph of the insulin syringe so that you could verify that she has drawn the correct dose? One unit on the line would be easy. You could show her tonight and have her draw the insulin.
 
Can I ask
No, you are actually not supposed to prepare syringes of insulin ahead of time. Since she is your friend and flatmate and she can text you with the numbers, she could also text you a close up photograph of the insulin syringe so that you could verify that she has drawn the correct dose? One unit on the line would be easy. You could show her tonight and have her draw the insulin.

Can I ask you why is not good to prepare syringes of insulin from before ?
 
Can I ask


Can I ask you why is not good to prepare syringes of insulin from before ?
Here is an excerpt from an article that explains why


Prefilled syringe stability
The stability of Lantus when it is prefilled into syringes and stored up to 7 days was evaluated using four different types of syringes (Aventis, data on file). The following syringes were tested (200 syringes of each type): 1) BD Ultra-fine, U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G ×½ inch (Becton Dickinson [BD]); 2) BD Ultra-fine II (short needle), U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G × 5/16 inch (BD); 3) Walgreens super thin syringes, U-100, 0.5 ml, 29 G × ½ inch (Walgreens); and 4) Reli-On insulin syringes, U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G × 5/16 inch (Wal-Mart).

The syringes were stored either at 41°F (5°C) or 77°F (25°C) for up to 7 days, after which the Lantus solution was tested for filtration time, byproducts, insulin glargine content, and m-cresol (preservative) content. The Lantus solution was visually inspected and pH measured every day (except days 4 and 5). Microbial contamination was not evaluated in this study.

Results

Visual appearance at 41°F (5°C).
The Lantus solution became turbid more quickly in the Walgreens syringes compared with those of BD and Reli-On. By day 3, the Lantus solution was turbid in all four syringe types. After 2 days of storage in the Walgreens syringes, the Lantus solution did not meet specification.

Visual appearance at 77°F (25°C).
The Lantus solution became turbid in the Reli-On syringes by day 2, and turbidity occurred in the Walgreens and BD Ultra-fine II syringes by day 3. After 6 days of storage in the Walgreens syringes, the Lantus solution did not meet specification. A placebo solution stored in the Walgreens syringes at each temperature did not become turbid over 7 days.

Insulin glargine content, byproducts, filtration, and pH.
For each syringe type, the Lantus solution complied with specifications.

m-Crescol content." class="section-title " style="-webkit-text-size-adjust: auto; margin: 1.5rem 0px 0.5rem; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 1.125rem; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(56, 54, 54); font-family: "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, sans-serif; font-weight: inherit; line-height: 1.3; caret-color: rgb(56, 54, 54);">m-Crescol content.
For each syringe type, the Lantus solution complied with specifications.

Summary
Aventis Pharmaceuticals does not recommend prefilling syringes with Lantus and storing for any period longer than needed for application. In addition BD states the following (9): “BD does not recommend that any of our syringes be prefilled more than a few minutes in advance of the injection. There are no conclusive studies to determine the safety or risks associated with this practice.”
 
Here is the sticky note from this forum that is all about the care and handling of insulin.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
If you read/scroll down you will see the full article linked in there. It’s a really long article though so that’s why I found the section for you on why the manufacturer recommends not pre filling syringes.

Also, the syringes have a lubricant inside the barrel to make them able to inject smoothly when you push the plunger. I would not think that you would want the insulin inside the syringes to be sitting in contact with that lubricant for an extended period of time.

Are you also aware that when you draw too much insulin into the syringe you should not inject the excess insulin back into the vial or pen? A lot of people are not aware of this, so that is why I just thought I would mention it in case you were not told this before. Always expel any excess insulin into a sink or somewhere, but not back into the vial or pen of insulin.
 
Here is the sticky note from this forum that is all about the care and handling of insulin.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
If you read/scroll down you will see the full article linked in there. It’s a really long article though so that’s why I found the section for you on why the manufacturer recommends not pre filling syringes.

Also, the syringes have a lubricant inside the barrel to make them able to inject smoothly when you push the plunger. I would not think that you would want the insulin inside the syringes to be sitting in contact with that lubricant for an extended period of time.

Are you also aware that when you draw too much insulin into the syringe you should not inject the excess insulin back into the vial or pen? A lot of people are not aware of this, so that is why I just thought I would mention it in case you were not told this before. Always expel any excess insulin into a sink or somewhere, but not back into the vial or pen of insulin.
Wow i didn’t know that!! I always expel the excess in the lantus pen again !! Omg
 
It’s probably okay. You could use up that pen and just not do it anymore (putting the insulin back into the pen.). They’re expensive aren’t they - in Malta? They can be expensive here. It’s up to you.

In Malta 1 lantus pen is 14€
Not much

but the glucose strips ???!! Sooo expensive ! Nothing lower than 14€ for just 25 strips !!
 
I just took a plus 2 and he is not dropping . I think today we had inactive cycles
I’m gonna sleep now

And double check tomorrow about the vacation dose
But 1 unit may be a good solution I think….
 
Back
Top