I agree with Janet that Simon is showing definite signs of diabetic remission.
I've FDMB-ified your info from yesterday:
5 January 2017
AMPS: 223 (4:27 am) -
FED: 2/3 can classic pate -
DOSE: 1.5 IU Vetsulin.
PMPS: 168 (4:06 pm - AM+11.5) -
FED: 2/3 can classic pate -
DOSE: 1.5IU Vetsulin.
PM+4: 77 (8:10 pm)
6 January 2017
AMPS: BG 194 (4:15 pm) -
FED: 1/2 can of friskees classic pate -
DOSE: Skipped ( no full meal, semi low bg)
PMPS: 164 (4:48 pm) -
FED: 2/3 can of friskees classic pate -
DOSE: Skipped (too low for shot)
PM+4: 90 (8:42 pm)
<----- Much lower BG after eating - Simon's pancreas produced a significant pulse of insulin in response to incoming food.
If Simon's next AMPS is in normal numbers (50-120 mg/dL on a human meter) then a remission trial is indicated. (Withhold insulin, continue testing, and if BG stays in normal range for 14 days - preferably under 100 on a human meter - then cat is deemed a diet-controlled diabetic.)
If Simon's next AMPS is higher after fasting since last night's feed he may have impaired fasting blood glucose levels (pancreas pulses sufficient bolus insulin at mealtimes to keep BG in normal range but does not secrete enough basal insulin between meals to balance release of stored glucose from the liver and BG drifts outside normal range after a long interval between meals).
I would urge a highly conservative approach to dosing. For safety reasons, I don't advocate sliding scale dosing based on preshot BG for Vetsulin, especially for a cat running in lower numbers: even a
tiny dose of Vetsulin has the ability to yank a fairly high preshot BG straight back down into low numbers again. Because the effect of Vetsulin is so strong in the early stages of a cycle I think it is vital for safety to have a wide BG safety buffer in general (target nadir >=100 mg/dL on a human meter) - and doubly so when a cat's pancreas is showing clear signs of recovery. Here is a link to a recent post discussing the problem with a 'sliding scale' approach to Vetsulin dosing; it shows my own girl's data as an example of how Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin) has the capability to really tank BG levels with only a tiny dose, and it clearly illustrates that the relationship between Vetsulin dose and Vetsulin effect is non-linear:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/scooters-multiple-endocrine-issues.169703/#post-1849184
Also, here is a link to Elmo's spreadsheet where you can see the same non-linear relationship between dose and effect in his most recent Vetsulin data; a dose of less than 0.25IU pulled down preshot BGs of over 200 into a much lower range:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZAoPctvtyhkyKhyx_vJh8ffy8ZTl_Ac1AqiCovCd_70/pubhtml
(Note: While Elmo was on Vetsulin his BG was measured with an Alphatrak meter; his test results would have registered lower on a human meter.)
If this were my cat's data and preshot was over 200 I
might consider giving a maximum dose of 0.25IU Vetsulin but certainly no more than that. Even with the 0.25IU dose I would want to monitor throughout the cycle to make sure that numbers did not go too low. Your data clearly shows that Simon's pancreas is doing some work so any insulin added to his system via injection could see him go too low - and his clinical signs point to his having already been in hypo territory on some occasions recently. If the dose proved safe and could stand an increase then you could adjust it (with monitoring, of course).
If an OTJ trial at this time should prove unsuccessful (i.e. Simon's numbers continue to show relatively frequent spikes or they start to trend upwards again) I would suggest switching him to a gentler insulin like Lantus or Levemir to allow his pancreas to rest a little longer and, hopefully, see him achieve a strong remission.
The L insulins typically don't produce the steep drops so characteristic of Vetsulin and therefore they make treatment of a cat ready to run in a lower range much more straightforward and also a good deal safer. Due to the way it works I consider it to be far too risky to try to keep a cat in lower numbers using Vetsulin - especially a cat whose pancreas is showing signs of recovery. L insulins are very good at keeping a well-regulated cat in lower numbers; Vetsulin is better at pulling down BG from higher ranges. Because Lantus and Levemir are basal-style, longer-acting insulins they can help keep a cat with impaired fasting BG problems from spiking between feeds.
If a switch to an L insulin isn't feasible and Vetsulin still needs to be used to provide support for a little longer I would suggest switching to using U100 0.3ml syringes with half-unit markings along with a
conversion chart to facilitate easier measurement of microdoses of Vetsulin. I would also set a very high no-shoot limit and monitor BG very closely (checking for nadir BG in at least one cycle per day - probably PM in your case, Jena). I'd also regularly monitor urine for ketones (particularly when eating is a bit hit 'n' miss and Simon's still off colour).
Mogs
.