Dec 29 Sammy no insulin for 29 hrs so far

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
So I am going ahead with taking Sammy off of insulin for a couple of days and see how low she can go on her own. So far this is what she has done:

Dec 28
AMBG 196 no shot
+2 176
+4 214
+9 385
PMBG 347 ( 18 hours since insulin shot)

Dec 29
AMBG 301 (24 hours since insulin)
+1 308
+ 3 302
+ 5 324 (29 hours since insulin)

+10 338
So at first I was thinking she was bouncing, which is nothing new for her. Then I see that she was sneaking down a bit lower, which was good. Now she seems to have levelled off.

No decision made yet. Still want to wait and watch. what i am encouraged about is that she was in the high 500s and even 600s at diagnosis, so she can hold her own lower than that (yeah, I know, there is some depot effect there too, but since she was at only .25 prior to this trial, I cant think the depot has that big an effect).

I think it makes sense that she might need more time to clear her bounce and really settle into a range, since I am not assisting in that clear with any outside insulin. So, we wait.

She sure is a happy girl. Has been exploring the house, playing and generally showing a great interest in life today.
 
So I think its clear that she needs some insulin help, but I am going to go with just a drop, and work my way up if I need to, with the goal to get her in nice blues and greens gently, without the extreme bounces.

As I always tell my kids, the definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing, expecting different results. Now we have broken the bouncy pattern, lets see if we can get a more level playing field.
 
Fill me in - why is Sammy not on insulin? These numbers are not good enough to claim an OTJ success. They should be between 40 and 130. These numbers are above renal threshhold so I worry about organ damage. Please pardon me if I have missed some experienced advice. I will go snd read your back posts. Headbutts to Sammy!

Good decision to start insulin soon. I am glad she is showing signs of feeling better.
 
RobinCot said:
Fill me in - why is Sammy not on insulin? These numbers are not good enough to claim an OTJ success. They should be between 40 and 130. These numbers are above renal threshhold so I worry about organ damage. Please pardon me if I have missed some experienced advice. I will go snd read your back posts. Headbutts to Sammy!

Good decision to start insulin soon. I am glad she is showing signs of feeling better.

I decided to withdraw insulin for a short while to clear her system somewhat of the depot, and to get her levelled out. She had been in a constant pattern of lows and bounces and it was becoming very difficult to feel confident in a safe dose of insulin (my opinion only).

Last night I gave her one tiny drop of insulin and she was at 88 at +9. So, that tells me I have a kitty who is extremely sensitive to insulin these days.

I never "claimed OTJ success". I simply withdrew insulin for a short time to get her levelled out, and will now start again at one drop. For Sammy, reducing slowly was not working, as we could not break the rebound habit. I am hoping that we have broken it now but time will tell.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top