Dec 21, Felix, AMPS=400, +4=384, PMPS=368

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
last thread Nov 20

Despite a few OK numbers, Felix has been bouncing higher and longer than he was before when he was working his way quickly down the dosing scale. I guess we'll have to bump up a bit again. :(

I haven't been posting for awhile. Not only was I spending too much time on the board, but I was spending so much of my time here in tears over everyone's kitties! Then all five of our foster kitties plus five of our own cats were sick (with five unrelated illnesses), and I was so frantic with worry about what was going on at home that I couldn't bear to come here and read about more sick kitties. I feel bad about that, since everyone is so kind and could use each others' support. I think especially of the people whose cats have Gone Ahead and who could put the roller coaster of this disease behind them, but who continue to come here and help us all.
I appreciate everyone here--and I love your kitties so much! :cat:
 
Last edited:
Despite a few OK numbers, Felix has been bouncing higher and longer than he was before when he was working his way quickly down the dosing scale. I guess we'll have to bump up a bit again. :(

I haven't been posting for awhile. Not only was I spending too much time on the board, but I was spending so much of my time here in tears over everyone's kitties! Then all five of our foster kitties plus five of our own cats were sick (with five unrelated illnesses), and I was so frantic with worry about what was going on at home that I couldn't bear to come here and read about more sick kitties. I feel bad about that, since everyone is so kind and could use each others' support. I think especially of the people whose cats have Gone Ahead and who could put the roller coaster of this disease behind them, but who continue to come here and help us all.
I appreciate everyone here--and I love your kitties so much! :cat:
Welcome back! We all understand. Sometimes your heart needs a break. I hope all your kitties are well.

Is he still eating any dry? If not, you could do TR if you want as you test enough.

He’s pretty bouncy but he is getting nadirs below 150 even I just look at the last seven days.

If you continue with SLGS, you’d hold the dose. If he’s kicked the dry food and you can do TR, I’d increase him to 1.25u but be sure you don’t do it on a bounce clearing cycle.
 
He doesn't have dry every day now, but some days he just isn't taking in enough calories otherwise, so he gets a bit of EVO. The main thing is when he does go low, I can't be sure he'll eat high-carb canned, so I may have to depend on Karo and kibble. That takes care of the immediate problem, but the Karo could wear off before the kibble kicks in, so it takes close monitoring.

I've been looking at 60 as his action number (vs. SLGS's 90 or TR's 50). I do think I'll increase him, but I can't monitor tomorrow afternoon, so I'll wait a few cycles since he does occasionally work this dose.

We all understand. Sometimes your heart needs a break.
See? Now I feel weepy again!:rolleyes:
 
He doesn't have dry every day now, but some days he just isn't taking in enough calories otherwise, so he gets a bit of EVO. The main thing is when he does go low, I can't be sure he'll eat high-carb canned, so I may have to depend on Karo and kibble. That takes care of the immediate problem, but the Karo could wear off before the kibble kicks in, so it takes close monitoring.

I've been looking at 60 as his action number (vs. SLGS's 90 or TR's 50). I do think I'll increase him, but I can't monitor tomorrow afternoon, so I'll wait a few cycles since he does occasionally work this dose.


See? Now I feel weepy again!:rolleyes:
SLGS is the most flexible of the approaches we have. Once the CG knows the kitty and patterns fairly well, you can modify, as needed, to suit your kitty.

He does have room for an increase when you feel ready.
 
Caregiver fatigue is a real thing. I completely understand what you mean, it is very emotional. :bighug:

Hope the dosecrease helps if you decide to do it. These bouncy kitties will make you crazy, I'm learning to use the bounce as a break to take care of myself and have a life, or just get some sleep!
 
Good to see you Susan, and to get a Felix update. Sorry for all that's been happening with your fur family. Sometimes you just gotta take a break. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top