Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52 , +3 88 +5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
yesterday :

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110199&p=1163212#p1163212

Did a ton of testing yesterday. Conclusion: my cat is weird.

She cleared her bounce by PMPS, but stayed pretty flat all night. is now dropping a bit at PM+10.

She is super grumpy, and is trolling for something else to eat, even though she has a nice fresh meal of FF sitting there for her. This behaivoir has signalled some low # in the past, so I am watching her closely.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Other than most cats being a bit weird, I don't see anything odd about yesterday. It looks to me like Sammy's bounce broke and there was a beautiful surf last night into this morning.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Big brother picking fights with her now, which is causing more stress around here....

"♫ ♫ ♫ In the house, cats are fighting..... all around, fur is flying, no peace love or joy, with that fat cat boy, hissing in the Stolz family room. ♫ ♫ ♫"
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Sienne and Gabby said:
Other than most cats being a bit weird, I don't see anything odd about yesterday. It looks to me like Sammy's bounce broke and there was a beautiful surf last night into this morning.

What is a surf?
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

When numbers are flat over several hours, we refer to it as a "surf." What you are considering a drop from the 190s to 180 is a surf. If you consider the 20% that's attributable to meter variance, these are pretty much the same numbers s the PM cycle is flat.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY AMPS 140

She is still dropping. What to do? She has not eaten in a few hours, and seems to have no interest in the cat food on her plate.

Stall, and test in a few? Shot due in 15 mins
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Are you going to be around to test? Have plenty of strips? Karo or honey or high carb food? 140 is the same number that you shot last night. I think you are good to give the shot. I am concerned about the lack of appetite. Do you have some other flavors to try? Fortiflora? Freeze-dried chicken dust?
Liz
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

This looks like a bounce clearing to me. It's not imperative that she eat right at the minute, but you also don't want to give a shot and then find her not wanting to eat later when she might have to to keep the numbers under control.
Can you afford to stall and maybe offer a different choice of food?
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
This looks like a bounce clearing to me. It's not imperative that she eat right at the minute, but you also don't want to give a shot and then find her not wanting to eat later when she might have to to keep the numbers under control.
Can you afford to stall and maybe offer a different choice of food?

I played "Swedish Chef" and offered a fresh new plate of food, topped with crushed dried chicken. Madame has deemed it acceptable. Her test is even lower now, she is at 124 now. A drop from 140 a half hour earlier.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Yeah, I'd say the bounce is clearing :-)
You can shoot, as Liz said, provided you have strips and are going to be around to test. She may have an "active cycle" today.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

124 is a very good #. I took a peek at Sammy's SS, and saw that you've skipped shots when the #s were slightly higher than that. If you decide to skip this shot, that may make Sammy bounce again, but it'll only be temporary, and he/she will clear it once you pick up where you left off. If you decide to shoot the full dose, and as long as Sammy ate, I hope that you'll be able to test throughout the day, especially 1 and 2 hours after the dose was given. Lantus typically has a 2 hour onset of when it begins to work, and sometimes it'll work quicker than that, hence the need for the +1 and +2 hour tests. Those tests will determine what kind of day you may have with Sammy.

Good luck, and welcome to Lantus Land!
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Angela & Blackie & 4 Others said:
124 is a very good #. I took a peek at Sammy's SS, and saw that you've skipped shots when the #s were slightly higher than that. If you decide to skip this shot, that may make Sammy bounce again, but it'll only be temporary, and he/she will clear it once you pick up where you left off. If you decide to shoot the full dose, and as long as Sammy ate, I hope that you'll be able to test throughout the day, especially 1 and 2 hours after the dose was given. Lantus typically has a 2 hour onset of when it begins to work, and sometimes it'll work quicker than that, hence the need for the +1 and +2 hour tests. Those tests will determine what kind of day you may have with Sammy.

Good luck, and welcome to Lantus Land!
Thanks.

The 124 doesnt scare me in itself, but the fact that she never stopped dropping from last night does. I can be here to watch/test this morning, and she ate well (finally) so i went ahead with shot.

Sammy is a she. Samantha, actually. My civvie is Sylvester, and we call him Sylly. Which he certainly is. See photo of the two of them here... Sammy is closer to the Christmas tree.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd...._=1387685641_e3f0253ccc06ec6f2a0bf41d6b7ffcf9
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Tuxedos. I have 3 of them myself. :-D They're both very beautiful cats.

Since you've shot the full dose, please make sure to get a +1 test, and then a +2 to be sure. Over time, you'll begin to feel more confident about shooting #s that are lower than the 124. We've all been where you're at, and we've all been scared a time or 2, as well. I'll never forget the day that Blackie dropped to 21. I was panicked to say the least. However, she was on 8 units of ProZinc at the time, and on the wrong food. Through the wonderful help on this board, and for someone from here showing me how to hometest, I was able to keep Blackie safe.

I'm glad that you found this board. The folks on here are extremely helpful, and will guide you through whatever problems that may arise (anti-jinx).
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Angela & Blackie & 4 Others said:
Tuxedos. I have 3 of them myself. :-D They're both very beautiful cats.

Since you've shot the full dose, please make sure to get a +1 test, and then a +2 to be sure. Over time, you'll begin to feel more confident about shooting #s that are lower than the 124. We've all been where you're at, and we've all been scared a time or 2, as well. I'll never forget the day that Blackie dropped to 21. I was panicked to say the least. However, she was on 8 units of ProZinc at the time, and on the wrong food. Through the wonderful help on this board, and for someone from here showing me how to hometest, I was able to keep Blackie safe.

I'm glad that you found this board. The folks on here are extremely helpful, and will guide you through whatever problems that may arise (anti-jinx).

I actually chickened out and shot .25 . And she is still dropping like a rock. +1 is 74. I am going to put the 911 back up so I can get lots of hand holding over the next while
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy PM+10 180, dropping and GRUMPY

Cute pic! Could you update the subject line of the very first post with the new numbers? That's what people see in the forum and will help you get attention. Great job!
Liz
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

Barbara and tuffy said:
any updates here?

Sorry, had a hell of a time getting a test, she is down to 52 at +2h30mins

So a drop of 22 in 90 mins , and 72 in 2 and a half hours
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

Barbara and tuffy said:
Have you fed? HC, MC what? Will she eat?

She ate a good meal of low carb at shot time, nothing since, what would you suggest? am I in trouble here?
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

No, I don't think you are in trouble. See if she will eat something. Do you have any MC FF? Consider the meter variation. Food sometimes keeps them surfing.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

I have some Hills Presecription M/d which is 14 % carbs. DId the garnish with dried chicken flakes and she is eating now. Test again when?
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

I would test again in 20-30 minutes. Just feed small amounts of food to keep the surf going. Normal BS for kitties is 50-120. When Tuffy is low she does not want to eat much. I'll check again in 20-30 minutes. Hang in there, this is progress. LOL
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52

Barbara and tuffy said:
I would test again in 20-30 minutes. Just feed small amounts of food to keep the surf going. Normal BS for kitties is 50-120. When Tuffy is low she does not want to eat much. I'll check again in 20-30 minutes. Hang in there, this is progress. LOL

Okay, tested again. She popped up a bit, to 88. I feel a bit better now.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52 , +3 88

I would check again at +4. If she is still surfing a +6 would be good. Do you know when her nadir is? She may continue to rise. Hopefully she will surf there in the 80s. If she needs a little more food, I would give it to her. Not too much and I would not feed after +6 unless she decides to drop back to the 50s.
 
Re: Dec 19 Sammy AMPS 124, +1 74 +2h30m 52 , +3 88

Barbara and tuffy said:
I would check again at +4. If she is still surfing a +6 would be good. Do you know when her nadir is? She may continue to rise. Hopefully she will surf there in the 80s. If she needs a little more food, I would give it to her. Not too much and I would not feed after +6 unless she decides to drop back to the 50s.

She is down again a bit at 61, asked for lunch, so is having a bit of LC and MC together (surfing smorgasbord).

As for nadir, she has pretty much failed to have one the last while, as you can see on her SS. She just goes in a straight line... low, then on the next cycle will bounce straight up, then a straight line back down. Back when she was less bouncy she would nadir at about +6. I did all that testing yesterday trying to catch sight of a nadir, but alas it was not to be.
 
Great job! That's exactly what we like to see, a kitty hanging out in the greens. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We write everything down so that we have an idea of what to do next time.
Liz
 
Okay, she is into blues now, just barely, so I feel like i dont have to watch her quite so closely now. Whew! thanks all for the support... but before I let you off the hook, what would you shoot at PM, assuming she is in the blues? I am thinking stick to the .25 that I gave her this morning? Part of the concern here is that I will not be home tonight at all, my son is going to be here to feed/shoot (very capable, but he has a life of his own and wont want to stay here overnight). I will be discussing it with him at PMPS time, but thought I would ask for opinions ahead of time.

Brian (tecnobrat) is also on the boards, so he may post here in the next day or so too.

Linda
 
Sammy is 6.9 pmps. My son cant stay to test her overnight, so he is going to skip. Caution wins tonight. Tomorrow her will stay and test in the daytime. Good ight and thanks.
 
I think that's a good choice, Linda. If he can't be around to test for any surprises, skipping is good.

He can post here, correct? If he has any questions at all, tell him to post them.
 
Since you shot a 124 this morning and he did pretty well, the other option would have been to go ahead with the .25 and leave some food down overnight. She seems to eat pretty well when she's lower, so she would have more than likely gone searching for a snack if she'd gone lower again....most of them do. It's like a human diabetic..when their glucose goes low, they crave Coke and Milky Way bars...LOL

Just an idea for next time...and there will be a "next time!" :mrgreen:

Beautiful cycle today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top