Dec 18/Willow/ PMPS 184, +2 187, +4 151 +5 178, +6 166

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Hello, link to yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ing-to-lantus-advise-on-starting-dose.208098/

Today is Willow's first day on Lantus, switching from Caninsulin. We plan to test every 2 hours, and I will keep this thread and her SS updated. I'm not too worried about today, but a little stressed about tonight and tomorrow...

edited to add: I posted some new questions in conversation below, if someone could please take a peek! Thanks :)

AMPS 12.9 (232)
0.5 U Lantus
+2 11.6 (209)
+4 9.5 (171)
+5 8.4 (151)
+6. 9.3 (167)
+7. 8.1 (146)
+8. 8.8 (158)
+9. 9.4 (169)
PMPS 10.2 (184)
0.5 U Lantus
+2 10.4 (187)
+4 8.4 (151)
+5 9.9 (178)
+6 9.2 (166)


She's definitely not feeling well today, although she's been awesome the past few days. Even hid under the bed 3x this afternoon. I suspect her constipation over the Lantus though.

update in pm: feeling much better :)

With love,

Nikki
 
Last edited:
Good luck :)
Hi, and thanks :) Just looked at Rhubarb's SS... she's the closest I've seen to Willow's patterns so far :) She's doing wonderfully, I'm so happy for you!
Can I ask, what is the DM you have used to help steer her? Also, what does the b/w 1 drop with 1 unit mean, just before you dropped her dose to 1 drop?
With love,
Nikki
 
Hi, and thanks :) Just looked at Rhubarb's SS... she's the closest I've seen to Willow's patterns so far :) She's doing wonderfully, I'm so happy for you!
Can I ask, what is the DM you have used to help steer her? Also, what does the b/w 1 drop with 1 unit mean, just before you dropped her dose to 1 drop?
With love,
Nikki

The DM is the Purina DM savoury selects that vet gave. I kept a few cans when I returned the rest. It's around 14% carbs.
The dose was between 1 drop and 0.1 U. My insulin is U100 if it makes any difference. What I called the between dose was just before the "soft stop" when expelling the excess. 1 drop is when you press plunger *hard* before you insert needle into cartidge/vial, and let go. You then make sure when giving the shot to hold that same pressure on plunger as you withdraw or that drop gets sucked back into needle.
 
Nice start for Willow today. It takes a few days for the Lantus depot to build, so hopefully no drama for a while.
 
The DM is the Purina DM savoury selects that vet gave. I kept a few cans when I returned the rest. It's around 14% carbs.
The dose was between 1 drop and 0.1 U. My insulin is U100 if it makes any difference. What I called the between dose was just before the "soft stop" when expelling the excess. 1 drop is when you press plunger *hard* before you insert needle into cartidge/vial, and let go. You then make sure when giving the shot to hold that same pressure on plunger as you withdraw or that drop gets sucked back into needle.
Thank you. Very helpful description :)
With love,
Nikki
 
Hi, I updated my post and SS but can't update title because it's too long :) Should I redo the title starting with pmps to draw attention? Don't know if I'll need assistance tonight but also don't want to feel desperate if I need help.

Also, does it appear that I should keep the 0.5 unit for the morning shot, if numbers continue in the blue range and preshot is similar? Worried about ability to get advice in the morning as I'm more easterly and ahead of many, I think?

A way too much info question on Feeding. We feed Willow many (9) small meals through the day, plus two chicken snacks. Most meals are 1/4 can FF, and we've fed more towards the beginning of the cycle because of the caninsulin. Now that we've switched to Lantus we're spreading the meals out more through the day, but are there times they should be fed "heavier" or does it really matter with Lantus? We don't *think* she's much of a food spiker (if you look at her SS, she's been fed 1/4 can before her caninsulin injections at 7:45 followed by 1/4 can at 8:30, 10, 11:30, 1:30, a chicken snack at 4:30, etc)
Basically, we're thinking of feeding 1/4 can 2 hours prior to preshot/injection, then 1/4 can at injection, +2, +4, +6, chicken snack at +8, 1/4 can at +10, +12,(injection) +2, +4, and another chicken snack at +6. Thoughts?

Lastly (for now) is it ok to feed her 2 1/2 hours before her PreShots and pull the food at 2 hours? Is that considered a good enough fast for the preshot BG?

Thank you all so very much, with love,

Nikki
 
Another tip if you run out of room on the title is just to show the current cycle, so you can remove the AM numbers when you need to.

Let's stick with 0.5 units for now, unless you see an under 50. Since you said you are interested in following TR, could you put TR in your signature. I forgot and had to look back. :oops:

One more thing, could you modify the spreadsheet to put a blank line before today, and then write "starting Lantus" or something like that on that line, to make it easier to spot the switch.

For feeding, try to get the majority of the carbs in the first half of the cycle. Carbs after nadir can slow down the insulin action, giving you a lack of duration. You can feed 2.5 hours before the shot, though you'll impact that duration. The suggestion to not feed for a couple hours before preshot is for newbies, until you gather more data on how Willow works the Lantus. You do want to make sure you are not feeding a number inflated by late cycle carbs. Giving a zero carb snack like piece of chicken breast should be OK.
 
Another tip if you run out of room on the title is just to show the current cycle, so you can remove the AM numbers when you need to.

Let's stick with 0.5 units for now, unless you see an under 50. Since you said you are interested in following TR, could you put TR in your signature. I forgot and had to look back. :oops:

One more thing, could you modify the spreadsheet to put a blank line before today, and then write "starting Lantus" or something like that on that line, to make it easier to spot the switch.

For feeding, try to get the majority of the carbs in the first half of the cycle. Carbs after nadir can slow down the insulin action, giving you a lack of duration. You can feed 2.5 hours before the shot, though you'll impact that duration. The suggestion to not feed for a couple hours before preshot is for newbies, until you gather more data on how Willow works the Lantus. You do want to make sure you are not feeding a number inflated by late cycle carbs. Giving a zero carb snack like piece of chicken breast should be OK.

Hi, thanks so much for all the advice, I've got it all done I think lol.

We've just been giving some chicken in water treat as the late snack, so hopefully that's fine. We'll cut down the later (post nadir) feedings to 1/8 can from 1/4 can as well.

With love,
Nikki
 
Back
Top