Sally and Lily GA
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dec-15-lily-amps-205.240056/
Morning! Lily is 132 at AMPS I will wait 20-30 min and retest.
Morning! Lily is 132 at AMPS I will wait 20-30 min and retest.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dec-15-lily-amps-205.240056/
Morning! Lily is 132 at AMPS I will wait 20-30 min and retest.
(((Lily)))I just didn’t know if I should give her the insulin this morning it just seemed so low already and wasn’t going higher. I will give to her in the future. She is 157 at +4.5.Hi Sally,
I'm sorry that you didn't get any replies earlier.
Lily did really well last night.(((Lily)))
At some stage you're going to have to bite the bullet and start lowering the 'no-shoot' limit: it's the route to remission and Lily is such a good candidate. Is there anything we can do to help you get to the stage where you get more confident about it? Are there any specific worries you have that perhaps we might be able to suggest ways to manage? (Tagging @tiffmaxee to ask for her suggestions too.)
Mogs
.
Thanks Elise, I can do that. I was just scared this morning because it was the first time she was this low at pre shot. Appreciate the info!Hi, Sally. Too bad I’m on the west coast and asleep at your preshot time. Lily needs to be green in order to go off insulin or at least between 50-120. I know it is scary to shoot lower numbers but with Lantus shooting low usually leads to a nice flat cycle. It’s when Lantus is at its best. Next time you run into this situation tag @Bandit's Mom or @Bron and Sheba (GA). If one is available they can guide you through shooting low. Whenever we suggest someone shoot low we stay with them until safe and guide them as to when to test and how much to feed. You would need to be able to monitor closely until probably +5-7. What do you think?
Thanks Elise, I can do that. I was just scared this morning because it was the first time she was this low at pre shot. Appreciate the info!
That's OK. We've all been there. As Elise mentions above, it helps enormously to have someone to guide and support you when starting to give insulin at lower numbers.I was just scared this morning because it was the first time she was this low at pre shot.

I just remember her dropping so fast when she was on Vetsulin, I think that scared me. Thanks MogsWith gentler insulins like Lantus and Levemir and with adequate testing (a box you certainly check!), it's possible with sufficient data to lower the no-shoot limit and safely give insulin. This then helps the kitty to stay in better numbers for longer, the idea being to let the pancreas rest more, re-educate the body into recognising what normal BG looks like again, and hopefully pave the way to a solid remission. Lily is such a good candidate.
Lowering the preshot levels is indeed scary but you have the skills and the data to help you keep Lily safe. Plus you can always post here for help. (Remember you can post on the Lantus board too if you don't get a quick enough response on Feline Health.)
Mogs
.
we are going to do this!!Sally, it might help to look at other people’s spreadsheets to see what happens when they shoot low. Look at JaxBenji, Shiloh567.I just remember her dropping so fast when she was on Vetsulin, I think that scared me. Thanks Mogswe are going to do this!!
Thanks, will do when I get home.Sally, if you don't mind, could you update your Signature to take out the Vetsulin. I first thought you were on Vetsulin! The Signature also need not have dose since that keeps changing. Lastly, could you move the SS link to the second line.
Will make it easier to read when we are looking for information quickly! Thanks!![]()


Thanks Mogs, hope you have a good night and sleep well.Hi Sally,
I see your girl is down from her trampoline and into the blues.
I'm about to sign off for the night. If you need help with the dosing decision tonight try tagging Elise (tiffmaxee). Should you need help later in the cycle or before AMPS in the morning, try tagging Bhooma (Bandit's Mom) or Bron ( Bron and Sheba (GA) ).
Mogs
.
Thanks Mogs, yes I think we will be ok. She is eating her mini meals and I will keep testing. I think she will be fine. Thanks for checking on us!!Very good PMPS tonight, Sally.
You doing OK?
Mogs
.



Yes, appreciate it Mogs! Hope your night is a good one!Good girl, Lily!
I'm glad to hear things are going OK, Sally. Should you need any help later, you've got the suggestions above on who to tag and where to post in one of the earlier posts on this thread.
Fingers and paws crossed for a nice, smooth cycle.
Mogs
.