Dealing with HYPO for the 1st time

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is not a honey overdose, her numbers are low, and her symptoms are very worrying.
Glad you are taking her there now, keep giving honey, on gums.
 
I would urge you to get to the vet in any way possible. Give the cab driver an IOU. This is an emergency. She cannot overdose on honey, but she may have come to hate it (?). Does anyone know if it might be possible for the e-tube to have become clogged (with honey)? Is it possible to flush the e tube? Sorry, I don't have any more thoughts. All I know is that in such a serious situation you need professional care (your vet).
Sending prayers for your kitty.
 
I just read this whole post and am both sick to my stomach and utterly amazed. You are all wonderful people and I already feel so grateful for all the help I've been given. Tanya, you are receiving so many prayers and good wishes. I hope everything is going okay and we hear from you soon. Lots of love!
I'm with Caitlin, just read everything and it is scary. I hope they got to the vet in time. Everyone is amazing :bighug:
 
Jill, there can be some lessons learned here. With a feeding tube in, would that be the best and fastest way for the honey to bring up the BG or the gums?
Good question for a vet. I would "think" the honey would be absorbed faster from rubbing it on kitty's gums, but I don't know for sure. In a crisis, I'd do both, but that's just me. If kitty is seizing, I know you're supposed to give karo rectally.

Edited to add: There might be some concern about putting syrup directly down a feeding tube. It might be better to dilute the syrup first, but again, a good question for a vet.
 
There might be some concern about putting syrup directly down a feeding tube. It might be better to dilute the syrup first, but again, a good question for a vet.
That is what she did, and as someone who has a little experience with a tube, I would think that would be the best way to do it, using warm water to make it flow better. It would be good to get a definitive answer from a vet, for sure.

My stomach is still churning over this. Good job to everyone that chimed in and worked so hard. Praying we hear good news soon.
 
I apologize if this isn't the best place to ask, but what should I have in case I ever need to do anything rectally?
 
I apologize if this isn't the best place to ask, but what should I have in case I ever need to do anything rectally?
There are rectal syringes, but most of us have oral ones on hand, and that will do in an emergency. This method is only recommended when the cat is seizing or unresponsive, I believe. Rubbing the syrup on the gums should work in most other situations.
 
The folks at DCIN will update everyone as soon as we know anything and hopefully Tanya will be able to give us some updates too!

For those of you that have been following along, DCIN is doing a fundraiser to help pay for the mounting bills for Ducia's care (which I'm sure you understand are growing fast with the DKA, tube placement and now this)

If you'd like to help out, please contact me by PM by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" and I'll give you the details.

DCIN always wants to be able to say "yes" when contacted, but they need our support!
 
The latest update from clinic is that Ducia is doing much better. The 2 am test shown BG 409 so they took her off Dextrose drip and were going to take glucose out of her food. Next test is at 4 am. Per nurse Ducia is alert, sits, over all doing good and interested in her food. Thank you all for help during Hypo. We expect a cal from Dr. right after 7 am Pacific. The night shift attending Dr is the one who fit Ducia with ETubes so she knows the case better and more willing to communicate than the admitting Dr. W.Witch who also runs the place and ready to talk every 12 hours only. The techs at the clinic are very attentive to Ducia, I feel she is in good hands. I am so devastated after the yesterday's events!
 
Thanks so much for the update Tanya. Sending many prayers for continued improvement and lots of ((HUGS)) for you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The latest update from clinic is that Ducia is doing much better. The 2 am test shown BG 409 so they took her off Dextrose drip and were going to take glucose out of her food. Next test is at 4 am. Per nurse Ducia is alert, sits, over all doing good and interested in her food. Thank you all for help during Hypo. We expect a cal from Dr. right after 7 am Pacific. The night shift attending Dr is the one who fit Ducia with ETubes so she knows the case better and more willing to communicate than the admitting Dr. W.Witch who also runs the place and ready to talk every 12 hours only. The techs at the clinic are very attentive to Ducia, I feel she is in good hands. I am so devastated after the yesterday's events!
Thank you Universe for answering our prayers! I know this had to be one of worst days of your life. I am overjoyed that you got Ducia to the hospital in time. Today, I hope you can relax and recover from yesterday's events . Continued prayers for Ducia.
 
Thank you Universe for answering our prayers! I know this had to be one of worst days of your life. I am overjoyed that you got Ducia to the hospital in time. Today, I hope you can relax and recover from yesterday's events . Continued prayers for Ducia.
Thank you or all your help yesterday. I am just so worried my mind is numb. I have no experience at all and knowing now she went from BG 272 to BG 22 and then up to BG 409 in one day is terrifying.
 
Deep breaths, Tanya. Ducia is in good hands. Thank you for updating us. We were all holding our breath. What a relief it is to hear she is eating and responding.:):woot:

Now you need to try to sleep. This has been an incredibly draining day, I'm sure. You will need your strength. We were all praying so hard and sending FDMB "vines" - which is our term for good vibes. You have a family here to help you going forward, but right now take care of yourself. We'll be here for you tomorrow. And the next day....:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The dose of insulin must have been too much for her. That's why she went so low. You got her to the hospital and that's what she needed. I'm glad she is there and is doing much better. Thank You God. Part of the higher number this morning is that her liver (finally) reacted to the low numbers and spilled glucogen sp? to save her in combination with all the honey and dextrose that you and the doctor's gave her. The doctors will continue to stabilize her. She will need a reduction in the insulin dose. My prayers and continued healing vines go out to Ducia. Thank you, and thank DCIN for helping to save her. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top