DCIN might need help with a Cushings Cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Venita

Member Since 2009
I got an email last night from the Maine Coon Rescue looking for someone to help a Cushings cat.

This is all the info I have so far, except the owner's email address and the fact the cat is in PA.

Date of Birth: 20 Feb 2000
Diabetic - take insulin injections (Lantus) 18 units twice daily and is on special diet - Purina DM (dry) Hill wd (wet)
Cushings Disease
Casey originally belonged to my mother but she could no longer take care of him due to being elderly (85) with a severe heart condition. I took him in last year but lost my job 9 months ago

DCIN can help financially, but I doubt there is anyway we could rehome this cat. I don't yet know what help the owner is looking for, but given the MCR has done a courtesy post on the cat (I don't have a link yet), I assume she's looking to rehome.

I am looking for someone with Cushings (or related) experience that can help me let the owner know her realistic options for Casey.

Thank you!!!
 
Hey Venita. I'm in NJ so if you need some help with transport or anything let me know. I don't have Cushings experience, but if this is an urgent situation I'd be willing to help however I can.
 
Cushings most notable characteristic is fragile skin (and high dose) and it is difficult to diagnose if fragile skin is not present.

So I agree -- it would be good to find out how the Cushing's was diagnosed. If some vet made an assumption based on experience with dogs and seeing the high insulin dose -- the cat may have something more treatable than Cushings. (cushings is more common in dogs than cats)

We have found Acromegaly to be much more common amongst the high-dose kitties, and a blood test is needed to confirm the dx.

Cushings is a difficult condition - if the kitty needs to be restrained for treatment, the skin can tear during struggles -- so the kitty can end up with wounds all over. A couple of the Cushings kitties here had to wear baby T-shirts or ones-ies to help protect their fragile skin / keep the wounds clean while healing.


Since 2004, FDMB has seen 69 ACROcats and 4 Cushings cats.

CUSHINGS cats on FDMB:
2008 - 2
Linda and Bear
Tammy and Mika

2009 - 2
Mari and Punk
Lisa and Franklin
 
I agree with Phoebe - many vets will think of Cushings before acro and it is very hard to diagnose. If the cat has NOT had an acro test, I would do that before trusting the Cushings diagnosis. I think we had one owner here whose cat was "diagnosed" as Cushings and we convinced her to get the acro test (Barbara & Misha(GA) maybe?), which was positive.
 
The acro test (IGF-1) and IAA test cost about $44 and $14 at the lab (MSU) -- vet charges for appt / blood draw and cold-overnight shipping. So usually $100 total in the US.
 
Keep an eye out for Diana and Casey

I spoke to Diana this afternoon.I am hoping she will hop on here soon and give you Casey's story and ask the questions I couldn't answer.

Good news is Casey, a 10yo Maine Coon Mix, does not have thin skin. The Cushings was a speculation by the vet. There is alopecia. Casey has not had the Acro/IIA tests.

Diana seems willing to keep Casey at home if she can get some money-saving tips and some financial help from DCIN.
 
Hi All,

Thanks Venita for posting Casey's info. Casey was diagnosed with diabetes in July 2008. He was on Vetsulin for about 1 year. His BG readings were always in the 300s range so around last July 2009 my vet switched him to Lantus. His readings never changes .. always in the 300 range, right now he is taking 18 units twice a day. Last summer we had a ultrasound done of his abdomen and his fur never seemed to be growing back. Also, for several years, Casey's fur has been falling out in little clumps, but we just thought his (kitty) brother was biting him. Also, his paw pads are extremely hard, not smooth like most indoor cats. My vet never seemed too concerned about the fur loss. Casey always had an extremely large appetite and he is a big cat - at one point he weighed 30 lbs , he now weighs 17-18 lbs.

I mentioned to my vet that I thought he might have Cushing's because his fur on his belly (which is enlarged) was never growing back after the ultrasound. She thought it was rare but decided to have the test done. We first did some skin biopses. Unfortunately, Casey did not heal well and he deveolped an infection and abscess and was hospitalized for 4 days. The biopses indicated that he may have Cushings, so we decided to test him for it.The first test came back negative (I think it was the ACH? ) but the second test came back positive. She conclued that he most likely had Cushing's disease, however she mentioned that he might have acromegly. We did not pursue having the test done, becasue she told me that the only option for him would be surgery. I did not want Casey to go through surgery given how poorly he did with just the skin biopses. My vet never mentioned radiation treatment to me.


Can cats that have acromegly have Casey's skin/fur conditions? I thought he showed the signs of Cushing's with the fur loss, pot belly, enormous appetite... but can an acro cat also have these symptoms?

I would appeciate anyone's thoughts. Thanks so much.
 
Hi Diana,

I'm glad you posted. I know almost nothing about Cushings, but I do have an acrocat. Some of what you've described does sound like acro - big, pot belly, insulin resistent, etc. I would really recommend that you get the test done - the results are pretty conclusive if positive (and it's a simple blood draw, sent to Michigan State University). Also, read the stickies above and see if some of the symptoms sound like your Casey.

Boo did have the SRS (stereotactic radiation surgery). It's is so incredibly easy on them - the worst part is that they are put under 5 days in a row, but they return to your hotel room every night. Regular radiation is much harder on them because there are more treatments and it's not so finely focused. Thankfully, it actually "cured" Boo - she went off insulin 12 weeks after the treatment..

Also, regular surgery is actually not an option for acro. Dr. Lunn, at CSU, says that it's just too difficult to do surgery on a cat's pituitary.
 
Hi Diana,
Venita asked me to pop in and look at your post. My cat, Bear, has Iatrogenic Cushing's Disease. It was caused by long term high doses of steroids which he takes for IBD. Bear never had any bloodwork or biopsies, but he was diagnosed on the basis of his clinical symptoms, many of which you describe in Casey: no hair regrowth after shaving, hair loss and poor hair coat, pot belly, thin fragile skin, and hind end atrophy. He has not had problems yet with open wounds or tearing skin. We try to avoid injury by, for instance, refraining from giving sub Q fluids for his renal disease, for fear that they may cause his skin to tear. I don't know much about Acromegaly. There are several people on the Lantus support group with Acro cats who use Lantus or levemir, and who are getting some decent results with shooting high doses. I will leave it up to the Acro experts to add more on this. I'm afraid that I have not been of much help, but I did want to stop in, introduce myself, and express support for what you and Casey are going through.
Linda
 
Hi Linda,

Thanks for checking in. Casey does not appear to have the fragile skin issues yet. Casey was taking Vetoryl when he was first suspected with Cushings but he could not tolerate it, not even 10 mgs. Casey does vomit alot, but he is always hungry and eats too fast at times. How is Bearman's appetite? What do you feed him? Casey's fur condition is getting worse, I wish there was something I could do for him.

Thanks for your help.

Diana
 
Hi Boo,

Thanks for the info. about the acro radiation. I live in Philadelphia. Do you know if Colorado the only place where the radition therapy is performed. Also, Casey is 10, I am concerned about him being put under for 5 days in a row at his age. Also, what is the approximate cost of these treatments?

Thanks for your help.

Diana
 
Hi Diana! So glad you came here and want to help Casey. I have a Casey (a diet-controlled diabetic Norwegian Forest Cat that I adopted via this board), so your boy's name caught my attention!

Anyway, what you're describing could be Cushing's... could be acromegaly. My Fletch was diagnosed over 3 years ago with acro. His fur takes forever to grow back after a shave-- he's still pretty bald from being hospitalized in December. It also is very spikey and little clumps fall out. I did have him tested for Cushing's back in January 2007, before the acro testing, and he was negative, but he's been on steroids for a couple years and is now at 10mg a day so that status may have changed.

Some basic questions:
Do you hometest?
Any way to remove the dry from his diet? ***but you must test his bg levels while doing this as it can reduce his insulin needs***
Any other health issues? pancreatitis? dental?

I'm sure there's more, but my mind isn't working too well at the moment. Please ask whatever you need to and we'll do our best to help.

Give Casey a gentle kiss from me (and my Casey too!)
 
Diana & Casey said:
Hi Linda,

Thanks for checking in. Casey does not appear to have the fragile skin issues yet. Casey was taking Vetoryl when he was first suspected with Cushings but he could not tolerate it, not even 10 mgs. Casey does vomit alot, but he is always hungry and eats too fast at times. How is Bearman's appetite? What do you feed him? Casey's fur condition is getting worse, I wish there was something I could do for him.

Diana

Bear Man's appetite isn't good, but that's due to his bowel disease. I feed him whatever he will eat in order to maintain his weight, which sometimes (and I'm not recommending this - it causes his BG to be higher) is dry food. He also has renal disease, so I am trying to find foods that are lower in phosphorus.

If you can get Casey onto a lower carb diet, it could help lower his insulin needs. Sometimes a little gentle combing or brushing (being cautious of skin tearing) will help the coat look and feel better.
 
Diana,

How did Casey get to 18 units of insulin BID (twice a day). Do you recall his initial dose and how decisions about increases were made and how much the increases were? How often do you curve him (take BG readings every 2 to 3 hours)? I ask these questions because diabetic cats can end up in high flat blood glucose numbers if they are receiving too high an insulin dosage. This is called rebound, and you can read about it here.

Has Casey ever had diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) or hypoglycemia (low blood sugar)? If so, when, what was the treatment and the results?

You told me Casey eats Purina DM dry and W/D wet. This is a chart of nutritional values of dry food, and this page links to two pages of nutritional values of wet food. Purina DM dry contains 13% carbs. W/D wet is 26% carbs.

Around here, we recommend wet food with 10% or fewer carbs, unless there are other health conditions to consider. Many of us use commercial food. It depends on what the cat will eat. My cats won't eat the pricey stuff, like Wellness and Iams, but they will eat the mid-priced Fancy Feast. I use the "Classic" line, everything but the seafood flavors, and those are (to the best of my memory) under 5% carbs. Some folks use the more economical Friskies, 9-Lives, Sophisticat. You can save alot of money by moving from the prescription food to commercial food, and maybe even do better with Casey's condition. But as someone else mentioned, you need to be careful about lowering the carb level in Casey's food because his insulin needs likely will similarly lower.

Dr. Lisa Pierson is our resident feline nutritionist and her website is at http://catinfo.org/. From reading that, you will see that the dry food is not appropriate not only because of carbohydrates, but also because of the type of protein and lack of water. Her site has a section on transition cats from one type of food to another.

You mentioned you use the Alpha-Trak meter to test Casey's blood glucose levels. Congratulations on having taken the first best step to treat a cat with diabetes. However, most of us use a human glucometer. Two reliable meters with relatively inexpensive strips are Walmart's Reli-on and
the Maxima ASTfrom Hocks.com. I use the Maxima because I need the strips to come in vials, and the Reli-on strips are individually wrapped, which I cannot open. However, whenever Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) buys a system for someone, it is the Reli-on because the strips are inexpensive and easily obtained just about anywhere. I have both strips for both meters on EBay at maybe 80% of what I pay through Walmart or Hocks.

Hocks is also a great place to buy inexpensive syringes. I use these.

You and I didn't talk about whether you buy Lantus in the 10ml vials or instead the 3ml pens/cartridges. At the rate you are going through insulin, the 10ml vials probably work out fine for you, but should yu be able to get Casey's insulin needs down, most find the 3ml pens/cartridges more economical (although a larger up-front cost).

You might want to check out Frugal Feline Diabetes.

DCIN wants very much to help you keep Casey in your home and is willing to help you financially to do that. Please do think about the things I and the others have said, and take some time looking around the Board, including the stickies on this forum and on the Lantus forum.

I would like to know what others might think about doing a rebound test on Casey, and whether it should be done with a dose of R or by a large reduction in Lantus dosage? Or do you think it is better to do an acro/IIA test on him first?
 
Donation for Acro/IIA test

A very generous member has donated $100 so that Casey can get the Acro/IIA test. I don't know whether that's going to be enough to cover the vet visit, shipping, and test, but DCIN will make up any difference.

From the sticky above:

Link to have blood sent for IGF-1 testing:

For the USA and Canada – costs vary depending where you live: http://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Cat ... st&Id=1401

Link to have blood sent for Growth Hormone test (Newest blood test being asked for by Colorado State University for documentation of acromegaly): http://www.cvm.umn.edu/vdl/ourservices/ ... tml#growth
/
/
/
Link to have blood sent for IAA testing:
http://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Cat ... st&Id=1494

Can someone provide some more information about which Acro test should be done on Casey (and why) and explain the proper procedure that the vet must follow to get the blood safely and soundly to the place it needs to go. Maybe this is in a sticky and I just don't see it.
 
My vet office contacted the lab directly to confirm/obtain all info regarding extraction, handling and shipping as well as the date the draw should arrive at the lab for testing as the tests are done only on Wed I think. I did fast Shadoe from the nite before for her blood draw, done on Sunday to be sure the sample was shipped in time to arrive at the msu lab in time for testing on Wed. We did not want to take a chance of arrival too late, coming from Canada, so the sample was picked up in time to arrive for the following Wed test. We wanted the sample to get there on Tuesday just in case the tests were done first thing Wed morn.
The shipping is to be done by Fedex.
Everything the vet will need is on the sheets for the two links:
http://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Cat ... st&Id=1401
http://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Cat ... st&Id=1494

Edit to add:
The above two links will provide most of the info you want, including the purpose of the tests, the date tests performed, general shipping instructions, prep for sample taking, etc.
Note: the reason I fasted Shadoe was for the IAA test as she has issues with lipemia on most of her bloodwork.
 
Hi Diana. Just wanted to welcome you to this board.

You've gotten some great feedback for things you can do today to help Casey, regardless of how quickly you find out about the Acro factor. My KB was diagnosed with Acromegaly in Feb. of 2009 and you basically treat the diabetes as you would a normal cat - you don't necessarily need to aim for remission, but for blood sugars that keep his systems safe, so in that regard the daily monitoring may have slightly different goals.

I would highly recommend you visit the tech forum on this web site - there are some step by step instructions for setting up a spreadsheet where you can very easily track Casey's blood sugars (and anything else noteworthy in his health, appetite, feeding, etc.), and you can link that information for others to view so they can help you if you need it. Take a closer look at some of the posts in this thread and you'll see "clickable" links to other kitties' spreadsheets, there's a lot of information in there. For instance, if you open KB's Numbers you'll see that we occasionally change his dose based on the information we collect.

Good luck with your precious kitty.

P.S. I grew up in Malvern... :)
 
Diana & Casey said:
Hi Boo,

Thanks for the info. about the acro radiation. I live in Philadelphia. Do you know if Colorado the only place where the radition therapy is performed. Also, Casey is 10, I am concerned about him being put under for 5 days in a row at his age. Also, what is the approximate cost of these treatments?

Thanks for your help.

Diana

Casey is the same age as Boo (10). Even though they go under 5 days in a row, they are only out for 10-15 minutes for 4 of those days. Boo was "woozy" until about 8 pm each evening, but she did fine.

CSU is the only place doing the SRS. It is expensive - $4000-$5000. I justified it by the amount it would cost to treat the diabetes. I figured diabetic supplies could cost up to $100 per month (especially at higher doses)...if the treatment worked and she went off insulin, the break-even point would be about 4 years. Considering that she's relatively young, I thought she had a good chance of living 4 more years.

Many people can't afford the treatment. If it is acro, the tumor is slow-growing and the kitties do quite well with insulin.

I think they actually do SRS with Cushings cats too. Aren't some types of Cushings caused by a tumor?

Regarding the tests...just have your vet look at the two links Gayle provided. Basically, they need to draw and spin the blood, and then send it out to MSU.
 
This January 2010 article says:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20123483
"There is no single diagnostic test for feline acromegaly - a confident diagnosis relies on a combination of clinical signs, feline growth hormone and insulin-like growth factor 1 levels, and intracranial imaging."

Michigan State performs the insulin growth factor test and their site provides the information on collecting and shipping. I could not find on the MSU site any tests for the feline growth hormone. While cranial imaging would be desirable it may not be necessary. I would expect the vet visit and the necessary blood test to be greater than $100 though.

I think the article I referenced above together with other articles and info in the this HIgh does forum provide justification for the required tests. I good vet needs to be found to take ownership of the diagnosis. We should not be specifically defining what test should be done. But we should question what the vet recommends.
 
OK, it looks like the Colorado test is the one for the growth hormone.

But you are right, Larry, in a perfect world where money isn't an issue, Diana should find a vet (if she doesn't already have one) that will take ownership of the diagnosis and suggests the proper tests.

There is a good Veterinary Referral Center in Malvern PA. I used them to firm up the diagnosis of my Max's pancreatic-origin cancer, and Kris and Jane used them to treat Janie's colon/anal cancer. I don't see an endocrinologist on staff, so would it then fall to the internal medicine vet?

Taking this approach, yes, is going to be way more than $100 because the specialist will want to do a full evaluation, including of past tests, and maybe repeat some of the Cushings tests. Is that what Diana wants, if the treatment outcome won't change?

Maybe I'm pushing too much here for the acro/IIA tests. When we have a high dose cat come onto the Board, the first thought many of us have is chronic rebound. The Cushings test, I've read, are highly unreliable. If Casey were my cat, I would want to understand why he was on such a high dose, and I thought an acro/IIA test requested of the vet by the client, would be an inexpensive way of putting that question to rest.

I'm basically where Nina is:

You've gotten some great feedback for things you can do today to help Casey, regardless of how quickly you find out about the Acro factor. My KB was diagnosed with Acromegaly in Feb. of 2009 and you basically treat the diabetes as you would a normal cat - you don't necessarily need to aim for remission, but for blood sugars that keep his systems safe, so in that regard the daily monitoring may have slightly different goals.

It's just reassurance/understanding of the need for a high dose; not just a matter of having worked to a high dose through chronic rebound. That's why I asked Diana my question about how it was Casey got to his dose.
 
Just want to add something about diet - if you check out the charts mentioned earlier you'll see that there are quite a few acceptable foods for a diabetic cat, there are alternatives to the pricey stuff from the vet clinic. Also, take a look in the Supply Closet forum for coupons and such.

I want to forward a link to Carolyn's hints on low-budget care but I'm at work right now and can't hunt for it, I'll check for it later this evening.
 
Venita said:
Maybe I'm pushing too much here for the acro/IIA tests. When we have a high dose cat come onto the Board, the first thought many of us have is chronic rebound. The Cushings test, I've read, are highly unreliable. If Casey were my cat, I would want to understand why he was on such a high dose, and I thought an acro/IIA test requested of the vet by the client, would be an inexpensive way of putting that question to rest.

Venita, I think the safest thing to do would be to get the acro/IIA test. If the IGF-1 is positive, we treat him as an acro here; if it's negative, we assume the Cushings diagnosis was correct.

From what I understand, you cannot do a rebound test with Lantus (probably because of the cumulative effect of the insulin). Jojo did describe a "reverse" rebound test using R, and while she thinks it would work, it was theoretical, designed for a Canadian for whom the shipping to MSU is prohibitive. Honestly, considering that Casey is alive and well on 18 u of anything, he must have something causing resistence.

Just my opinion...
 
Vets are taught that to have Acromegaly, a cat must look like a freak of nature.

So -- no vet immediately jumps to a diagnosis of Acromegaly for insulin resistance in a fairly normal looking cat.

Since we are approaching the problem from the insulin resistance perspective, we need to lead our vets to run the d%^#@ test --

My vet did not believe Norton had Acromegaly until after the positive IGF-1 test.

I had to ask repeatedly for this test -- even after he had a brain tumor confirmed by a neurologist and was high dose for over a year of FD treatment.

Agree -- if the original vet will PLEASE just take the blood and send it to MSU -- better than spending for a new vet/specialist work-up
 
Boo said:
From what I understand, you cannot do a rebound test with Lantus (probably because of the cumulative effect of the insulin). Jojo did describe a "reverse" rebound test using R, and while she thinks it would work, it was theoretical, designed for a Canadian for whom the shipping to MSU is prohibitive. Honestly, considering that Casey is alive and well on 18 u of anything, he must have something causing resistence. Just my opinion...

I found this in the petdiabetes wiki, in the rebound article.
Insulin resistance in the case where raising dose appears to have no effect over a wide range of dosage, it can be difficult to distinguish Somogyi rebound from true Insulin resistance. One way to check is to try a small booster dose of short-acting (R) insulin and take measurements of blood at 30 to 60 minute intervals for the next 4 hours. If the R has no significant effect, insulin resistance is more likely. If the R works very well, consider that the other insulin is being overdosed.

So if a traditional rebound test "cannot" be done with Lantus, would this simple test with R be reasonable?
 
I also had a horrible time with my vet office to get the tests done. Being in Canada did not make it easy at all. My vet office knowledge on the condition? They had heard of it. :-D

I had to do all the legwork, rather gathering the info and taking them printouts of the two information sheets from those two links. I had to keep after them again and again and again, to get on the phone, and find out what we had to do. I had to tell them they must use fedex and also that I would bring Shadoe on a Sunday so we could get the draws to msu in time.

Shadoe is the 2nd FD kitty at my vet office and the very first acro that they have experienced. The vet offices in most cases honestly don't know what needs doing, so they have to be informed by us.

The tests are very simple to get done, and the results will clearly tell you if the kitty is positive or negative. There are ranges, for each of the tests, and if you get a result that is out of the range, you likely have a positive. The upper side of the IGF-1 range is 72 I think and Shadoe was 120. I can't recall the normal range for IAA, but someone else may be able to provide them.

You would save much expense by just having the 2 tests done, as opposed to seeing a new vet and have specialists run tests; I should say that most of my expense was for the transport from Canada to MSU.

The suggestion to try with R sounds like a good idea, but what do you expect to see?
I use R for both Shadoe and Oliver, and right now, there are times Oliver is not responding to R.
R is very powerful, so great caution is needed to use it. There are several cats that get R shots to complement and bring down high numbers to safer levels, so reacting to R may not tell you much.
 
Picture....

NY316.16233069-1-pn.jpg
 
Diana & Casey said:
he is always hungry and eats too fast at times. Casey's fur condition is getting worse, I wish there was something I could do for him.
If we (you) can get his blood sugar lower and regulated, he won't feel as hungry all the time and his skin and fur condition will also improve. Right now he's not properly using all the nutrition he's taking in. Giving him insulin is likely making a huge, positive difference, so I'm very glad you're treating him.

I hope you don't feel like we're drowning you with information. It's obvious you care very much for Casey and want him to get better and we want to help.
 
Thank you so much for all of the information and the support and help with Casey's testing. I just want to make sure I understand what acro tests should be performed. Should we have both the IGF-1 and IAA test performed? I spoke to my vet today about having him tested for acro and she said it would cost about $200. She did mention that there are various testing centers? From the info. posted, it seems that MSU is the only place that does the testing?? Am I correct? Venita mentioned the Colorado test- should I have this test done as well?

Venita - I am familiar with the clinic in Malvern. I take Casey to Hickory Vet Hospital in Plymouth Meeting, PA. He has been going there his entire life and they are good (but pricey). My vet mentioned that she would like him to see the internist. I am fine with that but I think Casey should have the acro test first. Also, she mentioned that if he is acro (which she doubts becasue it is so rare), University of Penn does radiation therapy. We did not go into the details at this point. I will be speaking to her tomorrow aboout how we should proceed. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Boo - you mentioned that CSU does SRS. Do you know how this may differ from the radiation treatments that U of PA may offer?

Thanks so much for your continued input! Casey and I thank you so much.
 
Venita - I apologize for not answering you post about how Casey got to 18units of Lantus twice a day.

As I mentioned, we switched to Lantus from Vetsulin last July 2009. My vet started Casey at 1 unit twice per day and then increased him by 1 unit twice per day every 2-3 weeks in general based on his BGS.

I did not start doing home testing until last Nov. I have done about 3 curves and they have all been fine.

Casey's reading are high- always in the 300's with an occasional reading in the 200s or 100s. I test him about 3 times a week.

I keep asking my vet why are we increasing his dosages if his BGs never seem to respond to the increase? She never really give me a good answer other than to stay we can go up tp 30 units/ twice day. I do not want to get to that level.
 
Diana,

It might help you to understand my concern about Casey getting to 18U BID if you read this Lantus forum sticky about protocol. It takes a methodical, measured approach to find a cat's perfect dose, and I am concerned that Casey's dose may have seriously "missed the mark."

She never really give me a good answer other than to stay we can go up to 30 units/ twice day.

That seriously scares me.

At least according to the cats we see here, Cushings is much more rare than acro, so I am a little surprised at your vet's response. I don't know if there are other places that do the acro test, but the MSU tests for acro/IIA are what are recommended here. So that is what I would ask for. The folks here on the High Dose board have been doing this for some time, and have developed relationships with MSU and Colorado.

Larry is the one who brought up the test for the growth hormone, which is the one that is done at Colorado. I understand that Colorado requires that test if you are going to have Casey treated at Colorado, which I don't know is in the plans right now. Larry, is there another reason to have the growth hormone test?

Also, I have received another $50 donation for Casey's acro/IIA tests. So it seems to me, Diana, that you can go ahead and start planning for these tests.

Venita
 
I only mentioned the growth hormone since that was in the 2010 article I cited. I leave it up to the vet with what is required (and based on costs).
 
Michigan State University is the only lab in the country that runs IGF-1 and IAA. IGF-1 tests for acromegaly; IAA for insulin auto-antibodies. IAA is fairly rare, but it's a very cheap add-on.

Minnesota State University runs a GH (growth hormone test). They have a relationship with Colorado State University, working with Dr. Lunn, who did the research study on SRS and will be starting a new, drug study soon. The GH test is newer and not run as often. However, Dr. Lunn runs both IGF-1 and GH tests on a regular basis, on all the acros under her care.

Last I heard, CSU is the only vet school in the country that does SRS on pituitary tumors. It's an incredibly expensive machine. Other places do standard radiation therapy. SRS is much quicker and easier on the cats. The therapies are very similar in cost.

If, by chance, Casey tests positive for acro, Dr. Lunn is very accessible. She would talk to Diana or Casey's vet to explain the various options.

Acro tests are run Thursdays; results are available Friday if you bug them or Monday if you are polite. I would get the blood drawn and shipped on Monday and we'll have an answer at the end of next week.
 
Mich State Univ is the ONLY lab in North America that does the IGF-1 test.

Any OTHER lab that claims to provide the service is really only taking your blood sample and shipping it to Michigan State University and charging you a middle-man fee.

Have your vet contact MSU directly (info on the link) and the price should be more reasonable.


SRS is Stereotactic radiation -- it is very precise so there is less brain damage to the cat. The pituitary tumor is a pretty tiny target in a cat's head. The people here that have gone to Colorado for this treatment have had pretty good results -- and their cat's health has improved - not degraded.
 
Welcome!

Be sure not to send it USPS, so that it avoids sitting in the university mail room waiting to be delivered. Fed Ex or UPS should deliver directly to the lab.

We had the blood draw on a Monday (in Atlanta), sent it Fed Ex overnight, and it made it on time for the Wed test.
 
Boo said:
Michigan State University is the only lab in the country that runs IGF-1 and IAA. IGF-1 tests for acromegaly; IAA for insulin auto-antibodies. IAA is fairly rare, but it's a very cheap add-on.


Thanks so much for everyone's support. I did talk to my vet today and she did mention running the IGF-1 test on Casey but wasn't aware of the IAA test. She did call back with some info. on this but We have not connected yet. Does everyone agree that we should have both tests - the IGF-1 and the IAA done ?

Also, I asked my vet about conclusiveness of the results. She doesn't think the tests are that conclusive. What is everyone else's opinion?

I know that Cushings tests are not conclusive and Casey has had both.
 
I think the IGF-1 test + history of insulin resistance is fairly conclusive. That was enough for Dr. Lunn to treat cats; yes, she requested the GH and she wanted to see a tumor after the CT scan, but we would have proceded even if the CT didn't find a tumor. The most conclusive way is the list Larry provided, however, the CT scan is overkill. 1) Not all acro cats have a visible tumor; 2) CT scan costs about $1000 (or more); and 3) If you are going to treat w/ SRS, the scan must be done at CSU because it feeds into the radiation machine...just not worth getting it done. Also, as Phoebe mentioned, not all cats show physical symptoms.

The addition of the IAA is very minimal, so you might as well get that one.

Diana - a girl posted on the Health forum about Cushings. Her vet thinks her cat might have it. If you get a chance, can you look at this post?
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=12747
 
The biggest cost for these tests is shipping -- so for $14 extra, it is a good value to get the test done.

In the years that we have been keeping records here at FDMB, there have been 69 acromegaly cats, 5 IAA cats (2 also tested + for acro), and 4 Cushings cats. (since 2004).

If the acromegaly comes back negative, then you will want to get the IAA test -- so might as well get the test done at the same time.

Both IGF-1 and IAA tests have good confidence rates -- the results are pretty definitive. (unlike Cushings)
 
I talked with with my vet this morning. We are going to have both the IGF-1 and IAA test done on Casey next Tuesday. Let's pray for the best!

Casey and I thank you for all of your continued support and guidance.
 
Any chance of drawing on Monday so you don't miss the once a week testing on Wed? If you test on Tues and ANYthing disrupts the overnight delivery, the blood is a week old when they test.

Or if they set up the test at 8-9AM Wed , and the blood arrives at via UPS at 10:30AM Wed, and it doesn't get opened immediately, it missed the weekly Wednesday test.
 
I had Shadoe's draw done on Sunday and the sample was shipped via FEDEX not UPS.
You want the blood draw to arrive by Tuesday so that you don't miss the testing done sometime on Wednesday.

Contact your vet to arrange to have the draw done on Monday, and have FEDEX pick it up that day, for next day delivery to the LAB, not the mail room. You don't want your draw lost or spoiling in some mail room.
 
Venita and The Boyz said:
A week's wait, to draw next Monday, would be a much better idea than this Tuesday.


My vet doesn't work on Monday, that is why I have the appt. on Tuesday. She does work on Sat. If I get the blood drawn on Sat. ..Fed Ex would pick it up on Mon and it should get there in time for the Wed. test. Would this work or should have the blood drawn on Mon? I would appreciate your thought? Thanks!
 
Re: Financing for tests

Venita and The Boyz said:
DCIN has received donations/pledges for Casey's tests totaling $175.


Thanks so much to everyone! I can't believe how generous and helpful everyone has been. We are so fortunate to have found such a wonderful and supportive group.

Special thanks to Venita.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top