If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.
If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time in small increments to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.
Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.
Example: regular time is 7:00
7:00 am Wed. shot
6:45 pm Wed. shot
6:45 am Thurs. shot
6:30 pm Thurs shot
6:30 am Fri shot
6:15 pm Fri shot
6:15 am Sat. shot
6:00 pm Sat. shot
6:00 am Sun shot Turn the clock ahead and it is 7:00 am
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.
Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
Spring....turn the clocks ahead.