Info Daylight Savings Time (US) Ends Sunday, November 4th

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 20, 2018.

  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]

    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 4th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    Option D: (From Jill...)
    "Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

    [Please bump this post until 11/4]
     
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    NO!!!....I'm not ready to play this game again!!! ;)
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  3. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Thanks for the reminder, appreciate the options ;), I'm going with option D...that's what I did last year, and nothing Earth-shattering happened, the sun still came up...albeit an hour early :p
     
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I get so confused doing this.
     
  5. JeanW

    JeanW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Thanks for the reminder and info.

    Since I live in Arizona and we don’t change time I won’t have to worrry about it next weekend but the info is good to know.
     
  6. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
  7. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  8. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Oh gosh, I can't believe that's coming up already! This will be my first time having to deal with it, and I'll have to see how things fall that week. Previously I was on Vetsulin and I'd just dose at the new time on Sunday and all was well.... I didn't realize then how spoiled I was, haha.
     
  9. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  10. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
  11. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
  12. Laura bb

    Laura bb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    I am ready to get rid of Daylight Savings Time!!! I didn`t even think about this. I have a routine I just learned with him, along with my own tight morning routine. I give insulin at 6:30 AM in the morning!
     
  13. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
  14. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
  15. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  16. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  17. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  18. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  19. Rebecca.garfie

    Rebecca.garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
  20. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  21. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I get up at 3:20a and shoot @ 4:30a.

    I haven't decided what I am going to do. I am leaning towards just shooting an hour late.

    Bump.
     
    Sue and Luci and Laura bb like this.
  22. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Bump
     
  23. Laura bb

    Laura bb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    That's what I am probably doing!
     
  24. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I'm right there with you. This is going to sound awful, but I don't know if I care enough to fuss around with changing shot times right now. I have to work this weekend, so I am just going to shoot an hour late. I'm really excited for the extra sleep!! :joyful:
     
    Sue and Luci and LizzieInTexas like this.
  25. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Hubby will benefit. He shoots Sunday AM so I can sleep in one day per week.

    I did the 15 min/cycle the last three time changes. If it was early I might do the 2/30min per day but meh, late, naw. :smuggrin:
     
  26. Paigeworthy

    Paigeworthy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Thank you for this!!
     
  27. Rosie & Bailey

    Rosie & Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Thanks for posting this. Option D for me.
     
  28. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  29. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  30. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Tonight's the night!
     
  31. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  33. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    I wonder how many people, like me are going to realize this day of!! Oy.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  34. Laura bb

    Laura bb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Guess I just changed my time-from 630 to 530. Leaving my kitchen clock regular until I adjust to this. I am always disoriented this time of the year
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.

Share This Page