Daylight Savings Time (US) ends Sunday, Nov. 6th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
daylight-saving-time-ends-saturday-night-reset-your-clocks-news-63H9C0-clipart.jpeg


Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 6th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Option D: (From Jill...)
Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice!

Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done.

 
Another bump, and a question.

Any good tricks out there to convince the cat that sundown is not food time now? First time for Jack with the time change. In the past we adjusted pm food-time and left it at that. Now I don't have that option due to the 12hour schedule for insulin. Already he is turning into a royal whiner that it's getting dark out and he hasn't had his fuds yet, and the time change hasn't even hit yet. Moving the am feeding earlier would be a last resort, really don't want to get up that early if possible(more a late night person then early AM).
 
Le bump!

@saltycat Wes, have you tried a late cycle snack? Since Jack is on Lev, you can feed a later snack and still be before nadir. Neko used to have the same issue.
 
We used to do the gradual moving of shot time, but for the last 3 or 4 years have been doing Option D. Thank you, Jill and Sienne! So much easier, and if we have to adjust to the new time, we figure that Rusty can, too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top