Daylight Savings Time - Sunday, March 10th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
SO_Whose-idea-was-DST-anyway_-1024x650.jpg

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus users as well as those using other insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary shift.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 pm and has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 and has you back on schedule

Spring....turn the clocks ahead.​

(Please keep this thread bumped until DST ends.)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I noticed this was posted by another member on the Lantus/Forum thought I would copy it could be changed in the Feline Health Board also
Would you be able to change the mistakes in the message? It should be
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 6:15. and not the old 8:15 as written, for the 15 mn increments,
and
I think this one should be for the 30 minute increments
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00. and not the old 8 as written.
Thank you! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I noticed this was posted by another member on the Lantus/Forum thought I would copy it could be changed in the Feline Health Board also
Would you be able to change the mistakes in the message? It should be
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 6:15. and not the old 8:15 as written, for the 15 mn increments,
and
I think this one should be for the 30 minute increments
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00. and not the old 8 as written.
Thank you! :bighug:
Fixed. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top