Daylight Savings Time - Sunday, March 10th

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Mar 4, 2024.

  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]

    For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus users as well as those using other insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary shift.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 pm and has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 and has you back on schedule

    Spring....turn the clocks ahead.​

    (Please keep this thread bumped until DST ends.)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2024
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  5. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
    I noticed this was posted by another member on the Lantus/Forum thought I would copy it could be changed in the Feline Health Board also
    Would you be able to change the mistakes in the message? It should be
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 6:15. and not the old 8:15 as written, for the 15 mn increments,
    and
    I think this one should be for the 30 minute increments
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00. and not the old 8 as written.
    Thank you! :bighug:
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2024
  9. Kahluasmom

    Kahluasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I cannot wrap my head around this this year. No clue....
     
  10. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Fixed. Thanks.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.

Share This Page