****DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME STARTS MARCH 9th****

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Day-Light-Saving-Time-2012-300x202.jpg
For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary adjustment.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by 15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 6:45
  • Friday AMPS at 6:45
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 6:15
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00

Option C:
Not everyone's cat is sensitive to changing a shot time. Many people here are also comfortable shooting an hour early and have the experience to manage their kitty's numbers. If this is the case, you don't have to do anything and can shoot at what would be an hour early.
***Please bump until March 9th***
 
Thanks Sienne............GREAT reminder for us all.............forget my PM to you, I messed up the times and will follow your advise and do the 4 days in advance since Davidson is always close with his numbers and I shoot low.

Appreciate this as would have totally skipped over it.......

Shawna
 
BUMP...

Where I went to college, in South Bend, Indianna, we didn't change the clocks either....but I don't recommend moving there (well, since Ella likes snow, maybe she'd like it :lol: !!)...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top