Info Daylight Savings Time Starts March 8th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Very Active Member
Moderator
images



For most of us in North America, it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 8th)​
 
What about Jill’s last option she mentioned in the post she wrote about this? Or did that just apply to Falling Back in the fall? Not sure...
 
Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.
It's one reason why using Prozinc is easier. :) Don't need to worry so much about those time adjustments as you do with Lantus.
 
Bump
ostrich head in sand.jpg
Don't be like this ostrich and hide your head in the sand. Plan ahead for the clock change to DST (daylight savings time) and plan how you are going to change your insulin dose times. Especially those on a depot type insulin, like Lantus or Levimir. 15 minutes a cycle. 30 minutes per 24 hour period maximum.

Except for you lucky people that live in AZ and elsewhere that do not do this silly clock change.
 

Attachments

  • ostrich head in sand.jpg
    ostrich head in sand.jpg
    4.9 KB · Views: 140
Another bump. From frost heaves in the spring.
upload_2020-3-6_11-58-5.jpeg

In the road. All those potholes from the winter weather you know.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-3-6_11-58-5.jpeg
    upload_2020-3-6_11-58-5.jpeg
    7.9 KB · Views: 176
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top