Info Daylight Savings Time Starts March 8th

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Feb 23, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]


    For most of us in North America, it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    (Please bump until Sunday, March 8th)​
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. sandscout

    sandscout Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    What about Jill’s last option she mentioned in the post she wrote about this? Or did that just apply to Falling Back in the fall? Not sure...
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. Amy and Socks

    Amy and Socks Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2019
  5. toomanycats

    toomanycats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2020
    My option:
    Don't adjust time right away. 'Cus I am NOT getting up at what's currently 4AM. :blackeye:
     
    LindyNova and Deb & Wink like this.
  6. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    It's one reason why using Prozinc is easier. :) Don't need to worry so much about those time adjustments as you do with Lantus.
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yup, it just applies in the fall. There is more of a down side to just shooting an hour early than an hour late. That early shot can act like an increase.
     
    Beth 73 and Deb & Wink like this.
  8. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
  10. Karen&Rocket

    Karen&Rocket Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Bump
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  11. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
  12. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  13. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Bump
    ostrich head in sand.jpg
    Don't be like this ostrich and hide your head in the sand. Plan ahead for the clock change to DST (daylight savings time) and plan how you are going to change your insulin dose times. Especially those on a depot type insulin, like Lantus or Levimir. 15 minutes a cycle. 30 minutes per 24 hour period maximum.

    Except for you lucky people that live in AZ and elsewhere that do not do this silly clock change.
     
  14. NiandraLaDes21

    NiandraLaDes21 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Ok awesome. This is what I need to do. Thank you!
     
  15. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Another bump. From frost heaves in the spring.
    upload_2020-3-6_11-58-5.jpeg
    In the road. All those potholes from the winter weather you know.
     
  16. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Bump, jump, bumpity, bump, jump
    Smiley stress ball small.jpg
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page