Daylight Savings Time Starts March 12th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
spring-forward-clock.gif

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using Lantus and Levemir because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 13th)
 
spring-forward-clock.gif

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using Lantus and Levemir because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 13th)
Can you not just give your regular shot time and the give the next the hour later, but it would mean the time is still the same? Or don't set one clock forward in the house and follow that clock? I am wanting to move phoebes shots from 830-9 to 730-8.
 
Thanks! I didn't even consider how the time change would affect all of this. I appreciate the heads up!
 
Ok.. BUMP... and I also want to run my "schedule" by you guys.

I can't give an earlier shot time on Friday because I am still at work (I hate Fridays), so I think I need to bump my shot out later one day and walk it back... My "normal" ST is at 6am/6pm

Thur AM: 6:15
Thur PM: 6:30
Fri AM: 6:30
Fri PM: 6:15
Sat AM: 6:00
Sat PM: 5:45
Sun AM: OLD 5:30=new 6:30
Sun PM: 6:15

Then I'd be back on track for Monday... Does that work???

(Why we as a society still do daylight savings time these days boggles me.)
 
Ok.. BUMP... and I also want to run my "schedule" by you guys.

I can't give an earlier shot time on Friday because I am still at work (I hate Fridays), so I think I need to bump my shot out later one day and walk it back... My "normal" ST is at 6am/6pm

Thur AM: 6:15
Thur PM: 6:30
Fri AM: 6:30
Fri PM: 6:15
Sat AM: 6:00
Sat PM: 5:45
Sun AM: OLD 5:30=new 6:30
Sun PM: 6:15

Then I'd be back on track for Monday... Does that work???
You're going forwards and backwards. Try this schedule:
Thur AM: 6:00
Thur PM: 5:45
Fri AM: 5:45
Fri PM: 5:30
Sat AM: 5:30
Sat PM: 5:15
Sun AM: OLD 5:15=new 6:15
Sun PM: 6:00

You need to move backwards because we lose an hour.
 
You're going forwards and backwards. Try this schedule:
Thur AM: 6:00
Thur PM: 5:45
Fri AM: 5:45
Fri PM: 5:30
Sat AM: 5:30
Sat PM: 5:15
Sun AM: OLD 5:15=new 6:15
Sun PM: 6:00

You need to move backwards because we lose an hour.
I did that? I can't shot at those times on friday which is why I had to go forward a bit to walk it back. =/
 
DST is a pain. If your schedule won't allow you to make changes, you just have to adjust as best you can.

With what you typed out you had moved forward for Friday PM and then backwards.

Some people don't bother to make the adjustments and just shoot an hour off. If you do that, just make sure you can monitor because the shot will be an hour early. An early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
DST is a pain. If your schedule won't allow you to make changes, you just have to adjust as best you can.

With what you typed out you had moved forward for Friday PM and then backwards.

Some people don't bother to make the adjustments and just shoot an hour off. If you do that, just make sure you can monitor because the shot will be an hour early. An early shot acts like a dose increase.

I don't know why I have such a hard time with these time changes. Can you help me with the schedule?

Shot time is 4:30a/4:30p

I would like to start on Friday AM with the adjustment backwards.
Thursday PM 4:30p
Friday AM 4:15a
Friday PM 4:00p
Sat AM 3:45a
Sat PM 3:30p
Sun AM 4:30a *NEW TIME*

?? Does that work?

If I was sure he would be bouncing I would just shot @ +11 and be done with it.
 
I don't know why I have such a hard time with these time changes. Can you help me with the schedule?

Shot time is 4:30a/4:30p

I would like to start on Friday AM with the adjustment backwards.
Thursday PM 4:30p
Friday AM 4:15a
Friday PM 4:00p
Sat AM 3:45a
Sat PM 3:30p
Sun AM 4:30a *NEW TIME*

?? Does that work?

If I was sure he would be bouncing I would just shot @ +11 and be done with it.
It's not easy to figure out. I have to write it out and look at it again to make sure it's correct. It looks like what you have will work. You can safely move the shot in one 30 min. increment per day or two 15 min. increments. They way Sienne did it was moving the shot once a day, but you can move it twice a day if that is easier for you to remember.
 
This confuses me hopelessly, every year!

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

If I follow this, it seems to me that I will end up shooting an hour earlier than I usually do. I usually shoot at 9:00AM - 9:00 PM; if I go by this I will be shooting at 8:00 AM on Sunday, won't I? I hate this, it just confuses me so much!!!:arghh::mad::confused:o_O
 
This confuses me hopelessly, every year!

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

If I follow this, it seems to me that I will end up shooting an hour earlier than I usually do. I usually shoot at 9:00AM - 9:00 PM; if I go by this I will be shooting at 8:00 AM on Sunday, won't I? I hate this, it just confuses me so much!!!:arghh::mad::confused:o_O
It is very confusing. I hate DST.

You have Sat. PM at 6:00
Sunday AM should be at 6:00 which moves forward one hour and becomes 7:00. It is the old 6:00. Spring forward.

Does that help?
 
It is very confusing. I hate DST.

You have Sat. PM at 6:00
Sunday AM should be at 6:00 which moves forward one hour and becomes 7:00. It is the old 6:00. Spring forward.

Does that help?
I think it does, thanks. I always have problems with this (I'm also dislexic and I think that makes it worse). So when I give him his shot on Sunday morning I will give it at his usual 9 o'clock? (which would actually be 8 if the clock hadn't changed?)
 
Hi,

So my feeder did not open at time I asked, and I fed her 3 hours late tonight...:/

My usual time is 7am/7pm.

So my problem is, how do I put her back on her schedule, and deal with the time change?

I'm really bad crunching numbers like that...
 
So my feeder did not open at time I asked, and I fed her 3 hours late tonight...:/

My usual time is 7am/7pm.

So my problem is, how do I put her back on her schedule, and deal with the time change?
Did you give insulin 3 hours late or just feed late?
 
Both, actually.
Since you don't have a link to a spreadsheet for Salem's numbers, I have no idea if they are high or low. Can you set up a spreadsheet for Salem? Here are instructions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

You are only supposed to move the shot 30 min. one time a day or in two 15 min. increments to move it safely. I don't know what your schedule is and if you have to work, so it's hard to give you advice on moving the shot. DST complicates things.
 
unfortunately, I've just started her spreadsheet today, so, I have no numbers to go on for now

I'll just go by half hour per day, and I'll keep an eye on her numbers
 
In the fall when the time changed we just skipped the shot the morning of the change and got back on schedule in the evening. Radar did just fine with a skipped shot. We are thinking this is a good option for us because no one can monitor Radar all day tomorrow. Are there consequences for this choice other than draining the depot a little that we need to consider??
 
In the fall when the time changed we just skipped the shot the morning of the change and got back on schedule in the evening. Radar did just fine with a skipped shot. We are thinking this is a good option for us because no one can monitor Radar all day tomorrow. Are there consequences for this choice other than draining the depot a little that we need to consider??
I would worry about skipping the shot if he is not eating well, as you do not want ketones to develop. Are you checking for ketones? Is Rador eating better?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top