Daylight Savings Time Ends Sunday Nov. 7th

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 30, 2021.

  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    upload_2021-10-30_6-50-55.jpeg
    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 7th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S. and Canada, this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B(move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    Option D: (From Jill...)
    "Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

    Please keep this post bumped. Thank you!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2021
    Sue and Luci, Max & Lori and Hshray like this.
  2. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Thank you for the reminder!
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Thanks Sienne.
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  5. Kathy and tiger

    Kathy and tiger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2021
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  7. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Thank you :cat::bighug::bighug::bighug: Bump!
     
  8. Scdal

    Scdal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    Thank you for posting this. Option D sounds good to me. It saves a lot of confusion over shot times.
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Bumpity! Also an issue for a lot of Canada.
     
    Sienne and Gabby (GA) likes this.
  10. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  11. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  12. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Bumpity! Option D has worked just fine for us, so I guess we'll do it again...we're now 5 years in a row :woot:
     
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  14. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Don’t change time where I live (bump)
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  16. Susan Shropshire

    Susan Shropshire Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2021
    Great Idea! Thanks for the reminder
     
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  20. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Hate these time changes. Another option is to keep to your original schedule [if you can] and wait until after the time change to make the 15 or 30 minute incremental adjustments. Still opens you up to confusion but, at least, you'll be firm on what the current time is and not be doing what I always do--trying to figure out what the time is based on the old time and comparing it to what the new time is or will be. If this adds just another layer of confusion to the process, just forget what I just said. Carry on. :D
     
    Kathy and tiger likes this.
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  22. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  24. Kathy and tiger

    Kathy and tiger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2021
    I decided that was the way to go this morning! Glad I won't be alone lol!
     
  25. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
  26. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021

    Yes, I know what you mean. I am doing option A and I am so confused:joyful:. Doing it after Sunday would have probably been better.

    One more reason to hate Daylight Savings Time:D
     
    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) likes this.
  27. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I despise DST...or EST...oh why do they have to change the darn time back and forth, back and forth.

    I was reading the origins of DST today - some entomologist thought it was a great idea so he'd have more daylight for hunting bugs..this was way way back...just to think our worlds get jerked around daily so some guy could search for bugs...???? :facepalm:
     
    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) likes this.

Share This Page