Daylight Savings Time Ends Sunday Nov. 7th

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
upload_2021-10-30_6-50-55.jpeg

Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 7th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S. and Canada, this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B(move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Option D: (From Jill...)
"Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

Please keep this post bumped. Thank you!!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-30_6-50-55.jpeg
    upload_2021-10-30_6-50-55.jpeg
    8.3 KB · Views: 442
Last edited:
Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 7th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B(move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Option D: (From Jill...)
"Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

Please keep this post bumped. Thank you!!
Thank you for posting this. Option D sounds good to me. It saves a lot of confusion over shot times.
 
Hate these time changes. Another option is to keep to your original schedule [if you can] and wait until after the time change to make the 15 or 30 minute incremental adjustments. Still opens you up to confusion but, at least, you'll be firm on what the current time is and not be doing what I always do--trying to figure out what the time is based on the old time and comparing it to what the new time is or will be. If this adds just another layer of confusion to the process, just forget what I just said. Carry on. :D
 
Hate these time changes. Another option is to keep to your original schedule [if you can] and wait until after the time change to make the 15 or 30 minute incremental adjustments. Still opens you up to confusion but, at least, you'll be firm on what the current time is and not be doing what I always do--trying to figure out what the time is based on the old time and comparing it to what the new time is or will be. If this adds just another layer of confusion to the process, just forget what I just said. Carry on. :D
I decided that was the way to go this morning! Glad I won't be alone lol!
 
Hate these time changes. Another option is to keep to your original schedule [if you can] and wait until after the time change to make the 15 or 30 minute incremental adjustments. Still opens you up to confusion but, at least, you'll be firm on what the current time is and not be doing what I always do--trying to figure out what the time is based on the old time and comparing it to what the new time is or will be. If this adds just another layer of confusion to the process, just forget what I just said. Carry on. :D


Yes, I know what you mean. I am doing option A and I am so confused:joyful:. Doing it after Sunday would have probably been better.

One more reason to hate Daylight Savings Time:D
 
I despise DST...or EST...oh why do they have to change the darn time back and forth, back and forth.

I was reading the origins of DST today - some entomologist thought it was a great idea so he'd have more daylight for hunting bugs..this was way way back...just to think our worlds get jerked around daily so some guy could search for bugs...???? :facepalm:
 
Back
Top