Info Daylight Savings time ends Sunday, Nov. 3

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 21, 2019.

  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    upload_2019-10-21_20-11-41.jpeg


    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 3rd at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    Option D: (From Jill...)
    "Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."
     
  2. Jerry dutchboy

    Jerry dutchboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Thank you so much for this. It's something I hadn't thought about.:bighug:
     
  3. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Thank you Sienne. Bookmarking this so I can provide it to new members just starting out with insulin. Do you know if the schedule changes apply only to Lantus, Basaglar and Levemir, or does this work with Novolin, Vetsulin and Prozinc too? I have read that Prozinc is more forgiving with adjusting shots, but am not certain about the others.
     
  4. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Thank you very much Sienne! :)
     
  5. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Thank you!! Very helpful. Can't believe it's almost November already... :confused:
     
  6. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Thank you! Good luck everybody, trying to adjust :cat:
     
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    @Idjit's mom - Everyone needs to adjust their clock and shot times will be off. It is probably less of an issue with shorter acting insulin since there's no depot and you're likely past the duration of the insulin.
     
    Tomlin likes this.
  9. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Daylight Savings time ends Sunday, Nov. 3...
    ☀️ YEAH! ☀️
    Thanks Sienne. :)&:cat:
     
  10. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
  11. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Oh my goodness! I knew it was coming, but I didn't think it was coming so soon! Thanks for the reminder Sienne! I'm totally going to choose Jill's option. I think I deserve it. :cat:
     
  12. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Thank you Bump!
     
  13. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    In europe dayligh savings end Sunday 27 October.

    Thanks for the reminder Sienne
     
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  15. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
  16. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  17. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Thank you Sienne!
     
  18. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
  19. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  20. Mariella & Simba

    Mariella & Simba Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Thanks so much Sienne. Have been thinking about how to handle this, and you provided all the info I need.
     
  21. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  22. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
  23. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  24. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
  25. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Started my adjustment today! going 15 mins a day. I don't want to rock the boat!
     
  26. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  27. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  28. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    After a number of years micromanaging the time change, I began following Jill's advice. After all, if we have to deal with an hour's difference, so can our kitties. :cat: Never had a problem.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  29. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    BUMP !!!
     
  30. Tinker's Mom

    Tinker's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Bump happy fall
     
  31. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Don't forget to change the clocks on the auto feeders! I also change the batteries at the same time.

    Wish the would just do away with this nonsense.

    5b14efc7c4b09-rescue-cat-to-how-to-cat-lucas-turnbloom-fb.png
     

Share This Page