Daylight Savings Time Ends November 1st - Moving Shot Times

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
daylight-savings-ends-fall-2015.png


Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 1st at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Option D: (from Jill)
Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice!

Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the advice, our Daylight Saving Time here in France is tomorrow morning at 03.00am which took me completely by surprise so haven't had time to prepare for it as I thought it was next weekend - looks like Option D for me, and an extra hour in bed!
 
Just don't do what I did the first time - I dutifully moved the shot time and when Sunday came around, I realized I'd moved it the wrong direction, so instead of being 1 hour off if I'd done nothing, I was 2 hours off. [URL='http://www.felinediabetes.com/OLDFDMB/posting.php?mode=smilies&f=9#'][URL='http://www.felinediabetes.com/OLDFDMB/posting.php?mode=smilies&f=9#'][/URL]
[/URL]
After that fiasco, I went to plan E - on the morning of the change, I shot at +12, and then worked my way to the correct time in the next few cycles after the time change.
 
Oh good! I was wondering if anyone would mention this! I totally like option D, but will probably stick with B... but an hour extra of sleep... Dilemmas, huh?

Bumpity bump!
 
daylight-savings-ends-fall-2015.png


Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 1st at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00

  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Option D: (from Jill)
Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice!

Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done.
Thanks for the info.
Cat tongue bumps!
Cat_tongue_macro.jpg
Cats have a built in brush for their fur on their tongue lol
 
Cats have a built in brush for their fur on their tongue lol
I forgot it was daylight savings and was woke up by hungry kitties and was wondering half awake why my phone had a different time than my clock on wall.finally it dawned on me it was daylight savings and started thinking what do I do about her shot?!since she isn't regulated yet it didn't seem bad to do option D.lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top