***DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME ENDS NOV. 3rd***

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Endof-DST1.jpg

Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 3rd at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
Fall....turn the clock back.

(Please bump this post until after the end of DST.)
 
Just curious (and I wish they'd do away with these silly time changes, but that's off the topic)

Isn't it 15 minute changes per cycle, OR 30 minutes per day?

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 7:15
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
Sunday AMPS at 8:00 Your "old" 7 and you're back on a 7/7 schedule
 
Chris --

You can move the time 15 min. per cycle. Some caregivers are concerned about the impact of the time shift so the 15 min. per day is the most conservative means of shifting the time and applicable to those kitties who are very sensitive to changes in schedule and/or dose.
 
Yeah Sienne...my question was more on the "schedule" that was posted. It looks like they're only taking 15 minutes per day, not per cycle.

If you're taking 15 minutes per cycle, wouldn't each cycle start at a different time? In the first example, Thursday PMPS and Friday AMPS are the same time (12hrs apart, but no "15 minutes" added....7:15pm---7:15am)

Then the same thing Friday PMPS...same time as Saturday AMPS instead of adding another 15 min (7:30--7:30)

On the one I posted, each cycle starts 15 minutes later than the previous one, so it's 15 minutes per cycle, right?

If it's not right, then I've been doing my adjustments wrong this whole time with China when I've had to get back onto our schedule after stalling, so I just want to make sure

Edited to add...Oh ok...I see now where you said 15 minutes per DAY for those kitties who are really sensitive to time changes...otherwise, my schedule is correct for 15 minutes per cycle

I gotta get more sleep...lol
 
chris:
yes, you can move each shot by 15 minutes... and yes, the times work out as you've described.
we could call that option "Option C". :mrgreen:



i'd like to offer the easiest of all the options listed for the end of DST...

Option D:
bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. an occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal.
most kitties won't even notice!

many of you are sleep deprived. sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way!
that's what i'll be doing... and have always done.
 
images


Or you can let the cat take care of it! :lol: :lol: :lol: Tess just decided we needed to stall an hour, so we just shoot an hour later for the rest of the week. If you have a stall or a skipped shot you can always move back a few days early! Then next Sunday you will be back on schedule!
 
:YMSIGH: these *firsts* are hard. This is the first time in a long time, that I haven't printed out this reminder, for the fridge.
I always appreciated that Sienne made it so easy for us. :-D

It was super easy for me, 'cause I did Checkers at 7 o'clock.. I just followed exactly.

Why, you ask, did I write this? I admit it, I just wanted to mention Checkers' name. :-D
 
I am going to borrow your words to post on FB. There are alot of people on there that either arent on the board or dont come to the board that often. :-D
 
Barb & Checkers said:
:YMSIGH: these *firsts* are hard. This is the first time in a long time, that I haven't printed out this reminder, for the fridge.
I always appreciated that Sienne made it so easy for us. :-D

It was super easy for me, 'cause I did Checkers at 7 o'clock.. I just followed exactly.

Why, you ask, did I write this? I admit it, I just wanted to mention Checkers' name. :-D

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Barb & Checkers said:
:YMSIGH: these *firsts* are hard. This is the first time in a long time, that I haven't printed out this reminder, for the fridge.
I always appreciated that Sienne made it so easy for us. :-D

It was super easy for me, 'cause I did Checkers at 7 o'clock.. I just followed exactly.

Why, you ask, did I write this? I admit it, I just wanted to mention Checkers' name. :-D

And we loved hearing you mention Checkers name ♥
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top