DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME ENDS 11/4 ***TIME CHANGE***

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 4th at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump this post until 11/4.)
 
Bump.

Don't forget to disable the DST setting in your User Control settings here on FDMB as well :smile: Otherwise you may become confused when you see that all posts are off by an hour.
 
This is very useful thanks - its also useful if you have to move the time for whatever reason.

I usually shoot at 9am and 9pm but over thanksgiving I needed to be out later due to visiting family etc so I gradually pushed out the time to 11 and 11 so I could be home later. and then moved it back after. Maybe this merits a sticky?
 
This is awesome, thanks! I was just wondering about this over the weekend when i noticed it was dark soooo early! How did others handle the time change.

Thanks again,
Kathie
 
Thanks Sienne, hope you've had a great day. Thanks for keeping us in line!!

Jo
 
images
 
I totally forgot about this...

Im a little confused, haha

I normally shoot Annie at 11/11

I just shot her now(11), can i shoot her at 11:15 tonight, then 10:30 tomorrow morning, then 10:45 tomorrow night, then back to 11 monday morning??? does that make sense?? i can't wrap my head around this.
 
Reminder for anyone who forgot :smile:

Also, disable the Daylight Savings Time option in your user settings so that the board time isn't off by an hour. It's under Board Preferences in your User Control Settings. Select NO for the Summer time/DST in effect option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top