DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Then)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Morning folks.

Once again, it's that dreaded time to fall back November 2nd. We've got very little time to start preparing for it. Yeah, I'm grumbling, too.

I found, copied and am pasting this information as that time will be approaching sooner than we all would like.

Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 2nd at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): Pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 7:15
Friday AMPS at 7:15
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): Pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

Fall....turn the clock back.

This begins tomorrow. Good luck! :-D
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

Thanks for the reminder,we in the UK go back a week before you.
For all sugar mums & dads in the UK we go back on Sunday 26th October.
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

qG0AmIPnkGjhVGgkjs4FxxxtckWP_J7nOEU3s29ry2c=w245-h207-p-no
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

Just a reminder for all sugar mums and dads in UK/Europe clocks go back next weekend Sunday 26th October,start planning how to adjust your shot times.Please bump up!
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

Boy, how I used to rely on the convenience of having this done for us, twice yearly. :-D
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

bump - if you haven't adjusted in advance, just begin now and do it over the next couple of days.
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME BEGINS NOV. 2ND (PLS Bump Until Th

The subject line should read Daylight Savings Time ENDS Nov. 2nd . . .!!

(But we all know what it means!!)

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top