DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME 3/13 - Adjusting Shot Times

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots and overfill the shed. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which would be the “old” 6:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which would be the “old” 6:00

(Please help to keep this bumped up until 3/13. Thanks!)
 
Oh, poo. This is may not work with my schedule. Darn it I totally forgot about this. We work 4p to 12a, not home till about 12:45 a and shoot time is 1:30 am. I sometimes have to work over or get delayed by trains and traffic detours (I have to use the interstate for most of my trip).

I guess we will try to work it out. ;-)
 
I hadn't thought about this. Thanks Sienne.

The clock moves forward. That's the gain on Sunday morning of an hour ahead.
 
I have the hardest time figuring out time changes which is kind of sad when you think about it. :roll: Thanks for this!
 
I'm like banging my head on this. @-)

So if I usually shoot at 1:30am, it should be at 12:45 am the 1st time around.
Then the 12:45am should be 12:30am the 2nd time around.

I am not sure this is going to work with my schedule! 4p to 12a. I'm not home usually till about 12:45 or so. Sometimes I get lucky and make it home by 12:30.

OK time math people, help me out here. I'm an idiot with this stuff. :oops:

Thanks.
 
Bump!!

I did not even think about this last year and Chaos got +11's! This year, it's 15 minute increments for us! Thank you, Sienne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top