Day3 Lantus PS 310, +5 99 HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Very Active Member
Eleanor's PS atnoon (I'm shooting at noon and midnight)was 310. I was an hour late because she wouldn't eat. Finally ate 1/4 can FF Beef & Chicken, a couple bites FF Turkey/Giblets and a few bites 9-Lives Super Supper. This was about what she ate on Day 1 when I was told it was enough. She ate several more bites 9-Lives an hour after shot. Just tested her at +5 and her bg is 99. She ate a few bites 9-Lives. I don't know what to do. I understand this is not hypo but I am so scared. Don't know what to do next, don't know why she isn't eating well. HELP please!
 
JULIE!
BREATHE!

This is a GOOD thing - will post more in short time but it's OK!

Edit now - breathe again! That is NOT eating? Sounds like overall, she's eaten plenty. When the number gets closer to the 'good' range of 50-150, she won't be nearly as hungry. Her body is doing what it's supposed to do!

I won't be able to be here with you for long, let me see if I can find someone...

HUGS
 
Squeaky and KT said:
JULIE!
BREATHE!

This is a GOOD thing - will post more in short time but it's OK!

Edit now - breathe again! That is NOT eating? Sounds like overall, she's eaten plenty. When the number gets closer to the 'good' range of 50-150, she won't be nearly as hungry. Her body is doing what it's supposed to do!

I won't be able to be here with you for long, let me see if I can find someone...

HUGS

I know it's scary but it's NOT low - right smack dab in the middle of GREAT! It's a long way down to anything close to dangerous! How long has it been since the +5?
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
I'm really scared! I'm not ready for her to go this low! I don't know how much to shoot tonight, I don't know anything!

OK, that's enough panic - nuttin' to panic about!! Stand up and shake your booty! Let's see what happens thru this cycle before we decide what to shoot tonight!

Yes you DO know LOTS!! I KNOW you know!!

97 is basically the same number - GOOD THING!
 
Hi, Julie-

Lyresa asked for some eyes here...

And she's right...these numbers are not a problem, but I understand how nerve-racking it can be right in the beginning :-D
We'll get some more experienced folks looking in to see where you want to go at your next shot time...

Take a deep breath, girl!

gotta tell you...it's a good sign that you are getting this kind of response so soon...
most cats take much longer to see a change in numbers when you start lantus

celi
 
OK at +5, you are around the lowest that you are likely to see, so that 99 is a terrific number.
One of my civvies tests at around 42, and you are aiming to have your cat off insulin hopefully one day and the numbers you will be seeing with no insulin will be lots lower than 99.

You can do a bit more tests to reassure yourself, and those numbers will show the BG rising again, and NOT going lower.

You said that you delayed a shot because of not eating... please know that your next show will be 12hrs after that delayed shot, OK? If you did not shoot at noon, but waited till 1pm, your next shot should be given at 1am.

As for YOU being ready, well, the cat is the boss and if the cat is ready, then you better get yourself ready! Let's see where the numbers end up when you get closer to the next shot time, but for now, that 99 range is terrific.
 
This is great news for Eleanor :mrgreen: numbers nowhere near the 'scary' level yet so please try and relax, deep breathes very important. Looks like she is 'surfing' now so you probably won't get much if any lower this cycle.

Does Eleanor have issues eating? Vyktor is free fed, unless I think he's off his food for some reason I wouldn't worry about waiting to shoot because he hasn't eaten. Lantus takes a few hours to start working so it's not so imortant that they eat with their shot, just important that you know they will eat when they're ready.

It will help people to help you if you could set up a spreadsheet and a profile for Eleanor when you have a chance here are the links to help you set up a spreadsheet http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

I'm going to PM you the up to date profile info

p.s. vyktor is currently 79, and I haven't even got the syrup out yet :-D
 
Just tested again, 101. She ate a couple bites FF after the +5. Now she is picking at 9Lives Super Supper.
Why is she so not interested in food?
One reason the +5 scared me was because I really didn't think she ate enough with her shot...
 
Thank you Gayle - I can't stay, DH is having paralysis attacks so must stay by his side. He's in recliner right now so at least can't fall.

JULIE - HUG!!!! The calvary is here, you're in good hands!

I think I see a quick step in your future! and a celebration party!

Another HUG! This is GOOD STUFF! Go back to the 'Day 1' link to my bottom message and click on the 'Note from your cat' link. Now's a really good time.

GOOD WORK!!
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
... Why is she so not interested in food?
.....

Julie - the question instead is "why was she SO interested in food?" ...because she was diabetic, her body wasn't able to use the food she was putting in there.
 
very nice looking out, Lyresa :-D

and at the moment, there's a link to Eleanor's SS in Squeaky & KT's post...9th post in the condo
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
Just tested again, 101. She ate a couple bites FF after the +5. Now she is picking at 9Lives Super Supper.
Why is she so not interested in food?
One reason the +5 scared me was because I really didn't think she ate enough with her shot...

The food she ate with her shot will have worn off by now. How many meals are you feeding per day?
 
Eleanor was eating a "normal" amount when I let her free feed, but knowing I was going to start her on insulin I started giving her meals at set times, and she just won't eat much at a time. Next feeding, still won't eat.
I said I just gave her some 9Lives, she didn't eat more than a bite or two. She must be hungry, I don't understand this.
I'm feeding 4 meals. At shot and at +5 - +6.
I also have had food out all day for my other cat and Eleanor has not gotten into it.
 
insulin is what allows the cells to convert and utilize food properly...
the extreme hunger you saw before was because Eleanor could not process the food she ate.

so her not acting starving now is a good thing. :-D
 
On lantus I wouldn't worry about trying to give her set meals at set times when she's used to free feeding. Maybe at some later date you could look at using meals to control her curve if necessary but why not keep free feeding for now. Many lantus users free feed.

It's probably better if you feed both cats the same thing though, then you don't have to worry if Eleanor gets into your other cats food.

Cats will eat more when their BG is very high, because their bodies aren't processing the food properly, and also when they're very low - survival instinct to get the BG back up to a safe level. Eleanor is neither right now so I'm not suprised she's not particularly interested in food. She's probably wondering what all the fuss is about!

Good job testing by the way you've got that under control very quickly.
 
If she free feeds though, and eats just before her shot and I don't know it, couldn't I give her too much insulin? I mean, couldn't her bg be higher because she just ate, then when the food wears off, drop too low? Or does the food not raise the bg "that" much?
Or, if she doesn't eat at all, and I'm assuming she's free feeding, couldn't that be not good?
No, Celi, I haven't eaten, I was going to eat and go to sleep for awhile before getting back up for shot time!
 
Hi, Julie.

I'm wandering over from the Lantus ISG in response to Celi's request.

First, you're doing great and Eleanor seems to be fine. I suspect what you are beginning to see is that the Lantus depot is beginning to be established and you are starting to see Lantus work.

As for her eating, if you happen to be hovering over her bowl and if you're anxious, the combination may be effecting her. How about if you take a couple of more breaths, grab something to drink or munch on, and sit down for a bit and relax. Cats tend to be a bit contrary. if you want them to eat, they won't. When you don't want your diabetic cat to eat, she's on the counter trying to eat pizza or lick the bowl the mashed potatoes were in or they are stealing a cupcake. Just so you know, free feeding isn't a problem if that's what your cat is used to. You just don't want to give Eleanor food 2 hours before shot time.

Some cats will demonstrate that they are quite adept at bungee jumping. This is one of the many reasons that home testing is important. It's also why you shouldn't assume that just because you have a high pre-shot number, your nadir will also be high. I would like to strongly encourage you to get in at least one test during your PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

Because Eleanor has dropped from a relatively high AMPS, you may see her numbers bounce back up by your PM shot or thereafter. I suspect you will be fine to shoot your 0.5u dose tonight. If Eleanor's pre-shot test is less than 200, please post either here on Health or on the Lantus ISG and ask for a hand. (The Lantus board is usually pretty busy and we have several people who are on the west coast who are around at night.)
 
Sienne's here!!

The wise ones got you covered, kiddo :-D

and yes...eating and napping are VERY good things for the caregiver :-D
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
If she free feeds though, and eats just before her shot and I don't know it, couldn't I give her too much insulin? I mean, couldn't her bg be higher because she just ate, then when the food wears off, drop too low? Or does the food not raise the bg "that" much?
Or, if she doesn't eat at all, and I'm assuming she's free feeding, couldn't that be not good?
No, Celi, I haven't eaten, I was going to eat and go to sleep for awhile before getting back up for shot time!


The only time you really want to take food away from a free feeder is from +10 until shot time and yes that is to make sure you're getting a 'clean' number without any food involved so that you don't mistakenly shoot a very low number thinking that it is higher or you don't realise that you have a dropping BG level. Other than that I would let her eat when she likes for now.

I'm assuming you would notice if she's completely off her food - you sound like the sort of person that would notice! I guess that is easy for me to say with only one cat and that could be a little harder with two cats but I still think you sound like the type of person that would notice, and I do mean that as a compliment :-D
 
I might be a bit too observant sometimes :smile:
Today I was finger feeding Eleanor to get her to eat. She seems well though, she's been playing and acting normal, but the finger feeding is not normal.
 
Great going Julie!!

Hallulajah! Sienne's here too...THANK YOU!

I'm off now - I don't think Eleanor's ssheet has the numbers above in the exact right spots but they're close.

Julie - if you've created your google account, go into the link above and open the spreadsheet. Go to the 'file menu' under 'Eleanor's SS' and click 'make a copy'. It will put it into YOUR account (it may say 'Eleanors SS (2)' so YOU can put the numbers in.

HUGS TO ALL!!!!

EDIT TO ADD: I forgot to tell you, the colors on the spreadsheet work automatically. Just tab, arrow or enter to another cell, it will color it and save it for you. HUGS again!

So we can find you easily, your 'condo' title tomorrow will be:

2/12 Eleanor AMPS xxx
 
It's not normal from Eleanor's perspective either she's probably thinking - hey I'm used to always having food available I'll eat when I feel like it what on earth are you doing trying to make me eat now? :lol:

Might be a good plan to get a +11 before your next shot (as well as not instead of the PS (pre shot)) then you'll have plenty of time to seek assistance if it looks like it might be neccessary. Also you won't spend that last hour biting your fingernails and pacing the halls :lol:
 
Just tested again, 123. Still not interested in the food that is out. Running around, playing. Hiding from the ear stabbing crazy lady.
I'm going to lie down and have a nap now that I can see that you all are right, she's not going to drop dead on me! Will be back on later. Still nervous about her next shot.
Do they not drop as far from a lower number? I mean, if her bg is for example 200, is it unlikely she would drop 200 points like she did when her bg was 310?
I don't even know how to thank you guys. I can't even express how grateful I am to all of you!
 
We have all been where you are right now - good idea to go and get some rest, you're going to wear yourself out before you've barely begun!

You are correct re BG not dropping so far from a lower number. Eleanor is looking really good it takes most cats longer to get down to the green floor - I guess that helps the bean though, more time to get prepared!
 
Today was a good day, cat's happy and feeling better. You have a rest and leave the worry about tomorrow to tomorrow.

There's no point in worrying about something today that may never happen.
 
Julie & Eleanor said:
Do they not drop as far from a lower number? I mean, if her bg is for example 200, is it unlikely she would drop 200 points like she did when her bg was 310?

That's exactly right. If you take a look on the Lantus board, you'll see that on any given day, people there are shooting lower numbers. Just like you saw for the past few days, an ideal Lantus curve is flat. We try to get those flat curves where your cat is surfing in normal (i.e., 50 - 120) numbers. That's not to say that there aren't times when numbers bounce. However, when a cat is better regulated, the numbers flatten out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top