Day Five: Decreased Insulin and Considering Meal Schedule Change

Status
Not open for further replies.
George’s pre shot numbers have been declining over the past couple of days. I reduced last night to .25 and this morning only have her a small amount (probably about .1). Her PMPS tonight was 115 on the Libre and 177 on the AlphaTrak. I couldn’t decide what to do so I gave her her dinner and didn’t shoot. Hoping to get a decent nights sleep tonight as I haven’t slept for than two hours in a row since Wednesday. Open for advice. Thanks.
 
So this is the point you as a caregiver have to decide what your goal is as far as regulation. See here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-regulation.214777/

Ideally from a health perspective, we like to see nadirs around 90 at minimum. So she's still too high (I go off the AT). That said, everyone has a balancing act to figure out.

I am fortunate to be a stay at home mom at the moment and share responsibility with my husband, so tag teaming we were able to really get him into great numbers without any real safety concerns

Lots of people say hey, if I can just keep them below renal threshold (ideally below 200 because it's different for every cat), and clinical signs are good, that's good enough for me.

My two cents - I think you have a good chance at remission in the next few months if you can follow the MPM method. But that's a big decision (no harm trying it either, then saying not for me)
 
I’m having a hard time navigating and can’t find the dosing documents. I clicked all the links on the main page, looked thru all the stickies on the forums, and even read back thru all my posts. What am I doing wrong? I even searched for MPM but got an error message.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

This is the ProZinc dosing sticky. Quick comparison:

SLGS you reduce below 90. Hold the dose for a week, do a curve, then based on that decide whether to reduce, hold, or increase. At minimum need AMPS and PMPS tests, but any others are great as well. You can modify to say reduce below 80 or 70 or something like that.

MPM you reduce below 68 on
an AT or 50 on human meter. Increase amount and timing depend on nadir, and are laid out in that sticky. Requires AMPS, PMPS, and at least one other test each cycle. The idea is to keep them in green as long as possible, because that's where the pancreas heals and becomes able to produce insulin again. This method cannot be modified. Requires completely low carb wet diet (exception is handling low numbers when you need the MC and HC).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top