Day 3 What's the use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
After nearly a week of all yellows, she plummeted to a 145 this morning. I did not test during the night as I am down with the flu. How could this low this morning fit in with bouncing?
 
Yes she could be clearing the bounce. Did you give the full dose?

Can you get some mid cycle tests today?

Sorry to hear you are sick. feel better!
Wendy
 
Martha cleared her bounce!

Sorry to hear you have the flu, so I'm sending lots of healing vines to help you get better.

I understand why you skipped the dose of insulin this morning. Expect the BG numbers to shoot back up.

At some point, you need to learn to shoot those lower numbers, to help Martha the best. Hopefully, after you are feeling better you will be able to "shoot low to say low".

The shoot/no shoot threshold for Lantus over in the TR support forum is 150. You were so close to that today.

Next time you get a low number, don't feed and then test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is rising. If the BG is headed up, you may want to shoot the entire dose. We refer to this as "stalling".

Another option, is to give a token dose, like half the normal dose. This helps to keep the insulin depot topped off and keep those numbers from spiking which you get when you skip a dose.

Wish I could send you some homemade chicken soup to help you feel better and get over the flu.
 
Deb, I would LOVE that chicken soup, thanks for the well wishes! A little better, but a ways to go yet.
I have not felt comfortable with giving no insulin at all, so I like this idea of stalling. I have a cat-only vet now who treats numerous diabetic cats and she is adamant about not shooting when bg hits 150. We are both afraid of hypo.
I imagine that when stalling, after checking 30 minutes later if the number is not rising, I can give her .5 dose?
 
One way to handle concerns about possible hypo is to slowly lower your no shoot number when you have data that it could be safe OR can monitor around the nadir tosee how it works and intervene as needed to steer the numbers.

For example, you might lower your no shot number 10-20 mg/dL and hold it there while keeping the dose stable AND getting the important nadir tests done. After doing that for a couple weeks with no problems, you might lower another 10-20 mg/dL.

And so on. Any time you made a change, you'd do it when you are able to monitor. Just remember that it can take from 3 to 5 days for a Lantus dose change to stabilize.

Take a look at my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for additional assessments to help you evaluate your cat's health.
 
I imagine that when stalling, after checking 30 minutes later if the number is not rising, I can give her .5 dose?
It depends. If the number is still falling, you may want to stall some more, no food, check again in 20-30 minutes. If the number is still falling at that point, it's usually better to skip the shot that cycle until you get more comfortable shooting those low numbers.

Getting more comfortable means, doing a bit more data gathering when your schedule and life permit you to test mid-cycle. For many people, that's not usually possible except for days off like the weekend.

If the number is rising, I think you would be just fine to go ahead and give the shot. That could be either the full shot, or a token dose to keep the Lantus insulin depot topped off.

Today, you got a 176 at AMPS and went ahead and gave the 1U dose. That looks like a good decision to me. It will be interesting to see what Martha's PMPS is this evening.

Would you be able to add a regular "one last test before you go to bed test" to your routine? I think this would help to give us some good data as to what is going on with Martha.

Also, would you please add the meter you use for testing to your signature?
 
<<<<<Today, you got a 176 at AMPS and went ahead and gave the 1U dose. That looks like a good decision to me. It will be interesting to see what Martha's PMPS is this evening.>>>>>
Her PMPS this evening was 217----
 
Hey there

Since you shot at 176 and it was safe I would consider trying the full 1 unit dose when she is over 150 as long as you can get a mid cycle test in. Really we want to see more greens
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top