If you never shoot lower than a 200 with Prozinc, how do you ever get a cat into remission with Prozinc? I was saying she needed to gather data, so she would know how her cat reacted to different doses, and learn when she can shoot some of those lower numbers. The shoot/no shoot threshold of 200 is a generalization for new members. ECID. I wasn't suggesting she shoot low to stay low in every instance. I was suggesting she lower the shoot/no shoot threshold as she gathers more test data to show it's safe for her cat.
Would I suggest she shoot her cat under 100 on Prozinc? No, absolutely not. Is every lower number shootable with Prozinc? Of course not! At some point that shoot/no shoot threshold can be adjusted. Yes, Prozinc has a quicker onset, a steeper curve than Lantus, doesn't last as long, rarely the entire 12 hour cycle, but you still want to see those green numbers at mid-cycle when using Prozinc, to give the pancreas time to heal and repair the damaged cells.
I suggested she build up the test data, so she can develop more knowledge of how her cat reacts and possibly develop a sliding scale for the dosing of the Prozinc, since Prozinc is one of those in and out insulins that can have the dosing at least partially based on the pre-shot (PS) number. For example, if the PS is 200 then 1.5 U, if the PS is 150 than .75U insulin, if the PS is 300 then 2U.
If she always skips the shot if the BG is under 200, how is the cat ever regulated? How is remission ever possible? I know it can happen with Prozinc kitties, but it sure doesn't seem to happen very often here.
During the week, when you're away, you may not want to shoot those lower pre-shots, because you will not be around to monitor and see how she's doing.
This food change looks to be having a very good impact on those numbers. Your vet may not like the fact that you lowered the dose, but with the food change you are doing, it was the safe thing to do. You may need to lower the dose again, and soon.