Tiffany Smith
Member Since 2020
One hour later and we are headed in the right direction at a 103
I agree. 0.75.Oh, sorry! I meant, "a 0.25U reduction, down to 0.75U." On Prozinc, when a reduction is earned like this, you always take it from that day's dose.
The 1.0U was correct this morning, but now Nala is telling you nope, still too much, so whenever you give the next shot, it'll have to be lower.
She's looking very good today. Keeping you on your toes!
not a Prozinc person
Im sorry, I keep forgetting that partBut value your thoughts just the same.
My plow guys plowed my LONG driveway twice today.Deb, I hope you are not snowed in where you are!
@Deb & Wink , am I understanding right then that when I do her PMPS that unless its 190 or above, I will not give her a shot? And if it is 190 or above, try a 0.5u?
Yes, that's the plan.
Oops, you just posted with the number-- well, that settles it! Yes, skip tonight, test once more just to see what she's doing.
Yes, you have that correct.@Deb & Wink , am I understanding right then that when I do her PMPS that unless its 190 or above, I will not give her a shot? And if it is 190 or above, try a 0.5u?
Yes, you have that correct.
Skipping was the right decision last night.
Deb won't be online until late tonight.Good morning @Deb & Wink. I was wondering if you could take a look at Nalas SS. Her pr shot this morning was a 170, I have planned on skipping this mornings shot as well based on your suggestion. Am I still following this idea correctly? No insulin under 190 correct?
Deb won't be online until late tonight.
But I'm reading it same as you, so no insulin if she's under 190.
SashaV gave you the correct info, on both skipping the dose if Nala is <190 and when I am usually on the message board.
Nala is doing pretty good, for a cat that hasn't had insulin in 4 cycles.
We'd like to see her going lower than the blues she is getting, into the dark green BG range you see on the SS.
For now though, let's see if Nala can stay in those blues without insulin. And maybe drop lower into the greens.
She might only need a very tiny amount, like 0.1 Unit (1 drop).
So you could try practicing drawing up some colored liquid with a used syringe, and "squeezing" out the drops of liquid, to practice that tiny dose.
You want to try to make the drops the same size, and when you have the final drop on the tip of the syringe, pull back on the plunger to "suck" that last drop into the syringe.

Wishing you a warm, safe, and peaceful night too, Tiffany. Glad to see how well things are going for Nala.Hope you have a good night, everyone else who checks in too, hope you all have a good night and are staying warm.
Tip for practising measurement of drop doses:
When trying the drop counting, I smeared a small sheet of regular printer paper with Vaseline and wiped off the excess to create a moisture barrier. Then I would practice getting the drops the same size using water in the syringe. The oil barrier helps the droplets to bead up and it's easier to compare sizes that way. Also, twisting the plunger like you'd do with a corkscrew makes it easier to s-q-u-e-e-z-e out little droplets. The Vaseline-smeared paper can also be wiped off and used again. Adding a little food colourant to the water in the syringe might help you judge drop size better too.
Mogs
.
Doesn't hurt to wait... But I really think she does need a little insulin support. Id like to see her numbers in the greensGood morning everyone. Ok, so new situation. Nalas AMPS this morning was a 196. However, I went to bed half asleep last night and accidentally left her access to food out. I have no idea when or how much she ate. Do I need to wait another hour and test again with no food? Or is it time to shoot?
Doesn't hurt to wait
But I do think in general you've been skipping when she could use a little (0.1-0.25) insulin. Let's get those mid cycle numbers into the greens.Ok, thanks!
But I do think in general you've been skipping when she could use a little (0.1-0.25) insulin. Let's get those mid cycle numbers into the greens.
use a little (0.1-0.25)
You certainly could do that.So Ive been re-reading all the info on the Prozinc forum so I can try to figure out the dosing before coming back here to bug you guys with questions..lol. I have the U-40 needles, so should I get my husband to stop by Walmart and pickup some u-100's? I feel confident I can get .5u dose (half a unit) on the u-40, but anything smaller than that I feel like I really need those extra lines.
You certainly could do that.![]()
Sunny and cold here.
Only one for now. Would you please start a new thread? We like to keep threads to 50 posts or less, and this one is now up to 85 replies.Any thoughts, concerns, constructive criticism, suggestions all welcome =)
Only one for now. Would you please start a new thread? We like to keep threads to 50 posts or less, and this one is now up to 85 replies.
Smaller threads help the message board run better, all that software behind the scenes that we can't see, doesn't run as well when the threads get too long.
p.s. Nala seems to do ok on the 1 drop of insulin.