Day 3 Home Testing - Thoughts Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauraw09

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

I'm from New Zealand so I'm sorry if my BG numbers/ recordings are a little different. My Siamese (looks more Burmese) Maggie was diagnosed about 6 weeks ago. When first diagnosed her BG was 29! Yet she was just drinking a fair bit and peeing lots, otherwise seemed normal. Over the last week we had two low BG nights where we found her hiding flopped down twitching. This lead me to home testing. My chart is attached. I was starting to think she is almost non-diabetic. What are your thoughts? Will take the chart and Maggie to the Vet in a few days (just want a bit more data), as am aware I need to watch out for her keytones!

Thank you

Laura
 

Attachments

Hi Laura.

I can't give any advice as I am new but I can't see what insulin you are giving and I think members will want to know this info. Forgive me if I've overlooked it.
 
hi Laura,

If you could send another post with the type of insulin and dose, and also which make of glucometer you're using to test, that would be great. The alphatrak tends to test higher.It sounds like she might be able to have a dose reduction or even that she is going into remission. I know when you're new the recommendation here is not to give insulin under about 11. (I'm in uk and we use the same numbers). I was doing it wrong at first, feeding then testing, it's best to test before Maggie has eaten or when she hasn't eaten for a couple of hours.

My cat Angel was diagnosed end of May and there is a good chance he is in remission which I'm hoping is permanent. Before that he had a few times where he was able to go 24 hours without insulin and then 36, maybe that is what is happening to Maggie now, fingers crossed.

C x
 
My phone doesn't do Excel spreadsheets, even if I had a working memory card, so I can't see your numbers.
You could upload the spreadsheet to Google and have Google convert it for web display, then share link.

29 what? Mg/dL or mmol/L? Please give your units when you report measures.
29 mg/dL is hypo territory. With that number, you need to intervene with food and reduce the dose.
29 mmol/L = 522 mg/dL = high. With that number, you need to continue following your insulin protocol for dose adjustments.

See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for supplemental assessments (ie water drunk, food consumed) you may wish to make to evaluate progress.

See my signature link Glucometer Notes for what the readings may suggest.
 
Hi thank you all for the replies. Mag tested 11 last night and crashed after giving insulin. I'm using Caninsulin. 1ml syringe. 2 on my table would be 2 units. Glucose Monitor is CareSens NPOP. Updated table is attached. I always test before Maggie gets food, then use biscuits/ her normal meal as a reward. TSLI on table means Time Since Last Insulin

Thank you all again for the feedback!
 

Attachments

Drop the dose of insulin asap.
If you are giving 1.5 units drop to 1.

We really need you to use our spreadsheet; it is very difficult to read yours. Ours color-codes the glucose values and puts all notes about eating etc over to the right so all the glucose tests are next to each other.
I've attached a copy of the World version of the spreadsheet; you fill in the page for mmol/L tests and the US page does the math (multiplies by 18)



Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top