Day 2 @ .75 of Prozinc. New day. New numbers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Member Since 2011
By last nights trend and the AMPS reading it looks like Kitty has a good night.
I got 316 for the first reading.
I can only wonder what today will hold. Keeping my fingers crossed on avoiding wild swings.
 
Good amps #. Have you considered using the conversion chart and U100 syringes? You can then do increases of just .10 or .20 instead of a 1/2 unit. I found that .10 doesn't do much but just a .20 increase or decrease may be all that is needed. I have never used U40 syringes for my U40 insulin.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Good amps #. Have you considered using the conversion chart and U100 syringes? You can then do increases of just .10 or .20 instead of a 1/2 unit. I found that .10 doesn't do much but just a .20 increase or decrease may be all that is needed. I have never used U40 syringes for my U40 insulin.

I may.
However the thickness of the plunger on the U40allows me to eyeball about .25.
 
WOO HOO!!! 196 @ +3.
Kitty snacked about 20 minuted prior to the reading.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
And now we'll never know it if was changing the shooting area or lowering the dose, because you did both at the same time :roll:

I'm sorwry!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
At least he has slowed down some on the drop.....only 31 points this time. I guess I'd test in another 1/2 hr. this time to see if he is still dropping or holding.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
At least he has slowed down some on the drop.....only 31 points this time. I guess I'd test in another 1/2 hr. this time to see if he is still dropping or holding.

I would like to see a continuous string of green on the spreadsheet. :smile:
 
Back up to 103.
Had to break up a cat fight. Probably drove the sugar up.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Need to take a picture of today's numbers and hang it over his food bowl and tell him this is what you want every day :-D

Give him his marching orders aye?

I'm running out of test strips and Walmart is out. May have to buy that Onetouch Mini after all.
 
Sev said:
I'm running out of test strips and Walmart is out. May have to buy that Onetouch Mini after all.

If you're buying strips of the shelf, they usually have some behind the pharmacy counter, too. I usually have to ask.
 
What lovely numbers today, Sev. You deserve it with all the work you have put into Kitty. I am so glad!

Remember early on when we said there were 2 options - up or down - and the only way to know was to try. It sure worked for you. We tried up and the numbers were high. This lower dose looks like it is working great.
 
bookw0rm said:
Sev said:
I'm running out of test strips and Walmart is out. May have to buy that Onetouch Mini after all.

If you're buying strips of the shelf, they usually have some behind the pharmacy counter, too. I usually have to ask.

Its exactly what i did. Got a box of 100.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
What lovely numbers today, Sev. You deserve it with all the work you have put into Kitty. I am so glad!

Remember early on when we said there were 2 options - up or down - and the only way to know was to try. It sure worked for you. We tried up and the numbers were high. This lower dose looks like it is working great.

If it's close 2 days running I will be really happy. Actually it started last night by the looks of it.
Monday I bring Kitty in for testing and hopefully will be getting his teeth cleaned later that week.
 
Looks like the run came to and end.
PM +8 was 545. Not sure what happened between +5 and +8. He was hanging in the low 200's prior.
AMPS was 468.
 
It's probably just a bounce from seeing those pretty green numbers yesterday..his body wasn't used to it. Are you giving Kitty treats everytime you test? What treats are you giving him?
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
It's probably just a bounce from seeing those pretty green numbers yesterday..his body wasn't used to it. Are you giving Kitty treats everytime you test? What treats are you giving him?

No. No treats. I am keeping it pretty strict. I have been putting our fresh turkey for him during the day and late evening between feedings. Other than that the diet is 2 oz of cat food per feeding.
 
Sev said:
Marcy & Klinger said:
It's probably just a bounce from seeing those pretty green numbers yesterday..his body wasn't used to it. Are you giving Kitty treats everytime you test? What treats are you giving him?

My eyes just about popped out of my head when I saw the 545. I thought I would see 300's as he seemed to level off pretty fast.
No. No treats. I am keeping it pretty strict. I have been putting our fresh turkey for him during the day and late evening between feedings. Other than that the diet is 2 oz of cat food per feeding.
 
Yeah, that's why I asked about treats...thinking maybe there was some hidden carbs that caused the 545. Darn. You may see higher numbers today and tonight. It has taken Klinger as long as three days to clear a bounce. ohmygod_smile
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
Yeah, that's why I asked about treats...thinking maybe there was some hidden carbs that caused the 545. Darn. You may see higher numbers today and tonight. It has taken Klinger as long as three days to clear a bounce. ohmygod_smile

Yah its looking like a day of high numbers. He is not dropping very much at all.
 
Sev said:
Marcy & Klinger said:
It's probably just a bounce from seeing those pretty green numbers yesterday..his body wasn't used to it. Are you giving Kitty treats everytime you test? What treats are you giving him?

No. No treats. I am keeping it pretty strict. I have been putting our fresh turkey for him during the day and late evening between feedings. Other than that the diet is 2 oz of cat food per feeding.

How many times a day is Kitty getting a 2-oz meal?
 
Mystery said:
Sev said:
Marcy & Klinger said:
It's probably just a bounce from seeing those pretty green numbers yesterday..his body wasn't used to it. Are you giving Kitty treats everytime you test? What treats are you giving him?

No. No treats. I am keeping it pretty strict. I have been putting our fresh turkey for him during the day and late evening between feedings. Other than that the diet is 2 oz of cat food per feeding.

How many times a day is Kitty getting a 2-oz meal?

Morning and evening. Plus a turkey snack during the course of the day and a few hours after the evening meal. I also use FreshPet grilled meals in the pouch.
 
2 oz per cat per meal plus some snacks sounds low to me, but I have some 10-11 pound cats.

Are both kitties' weights satisfactory or are they thin?
 
BJM said:
2 oz per cat per meal plus some snacks sounds low to me, but I have some 10-11 pound cats.

Are both kitties' weights satisfactory or are they thin?

The kitten is doing fine.
Kitty was weighing in at 11lbs down from 17. His tail and spine are a little boney. I would like to get some meat back on him.
However I have been hesitant to up the amount of food while his numbers are so out of whack. He is getting around 150-175 calories a day by my estimate.

A 5.5 oz can of Wellness would give him about 189-220 of calories depending on which meal I am giving.
 
How much should I feed my cat?


A2.6. As many calories as your cat needs to maintain a healthy weight; typically 15-25 calories per pound of ideal weight, depending on your cat's activity level. Cats who require fewer calories may benefit from more nutrient-dense foods so that they do not develop nutritional deficiencies. Unregulated cats may require more food at first because they are not able to properly metabolize what they are eating.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
How much should I feed my cat?


A2.6. As many calories as your cat needs to maintain a healthy weight; typically 15-25 calories per pound of ideal weight, depending on your cat's activity level. Cats who require fewer calories may benefit from more nutrient-dense foods so that they do not develop nutritional deficiencies. Unregulated cats may require more food at first because they are not able to properly metabolize what they are eating.

Everything I am feeding is below 6 carbs so I can up the food.
Just have to keep and eye on the Coon cat. She eats everything in sight. Goes in the pantry. Gets in the fridge. Stole a steak from me once.
Will steal Kitties food given the chance.
 
For you formerly 17 lb cat, that works out to a range of
17 * 15 = 255
17 * 25 = 425
vs the 189-220 you've been feeding him

Since you want him to gain, I'd go with the higher calorie level per day, spread out into 2 or more meals and then adjust the insulin to meet it.
 
I've got 11 free-roaming cats in the house - I understand about trying to keep diets separate!
 
BJM said:
For you formerly 17 lb cat, that works out to a range of
17 * 15 = 255
17 * 25 = 425
vs the 189-220 you've been feeding him

Since you want him to gain, I'd go with the higher calorie level per day, spread out into 2 or more meals and then adjust the insulin to meet it.

Ok.
However Kitty is not large and his optimum is probably between 10 and 12 lbs. He was 11 at the vets on last weighing.
11*15 = 165
11*25 - 275
 
BJM said:
He does seem to be a bit bouncy on the ProZinc right now.

At first I had another fut shot. His fur is pretty tight around the flanks for a cat that lost 7 lbs.
This morning looks good. AMPS 321.
 
I missed Sues suggestion I start a thread over on the Prozinc forum.

Could be a good time to start one over there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top