Day 1 of varied dosage.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Very Active Member
Alright guys I am going to vary the dosage from .5 units in the AM to .75 in the PM as suggested.
Let see if this levels out his numbers. He is still holding the pattern that started with the .5u shot at PM of 12/13

This mornings AMPS came in at 231.
I gave Kitty .5u's.

Keeping the fingers crossed.
 
Well at least he didnt plummet this morning.
It looking a bit like the PM patter at lower numbers so far.
Only went up 81 points since AMPS. He should start falling @ +3 if he follows the evening pattern.
 
Ok. He is starting to make his drop.
Its looking similar to the evening.
 
Stick with it, Sev......the a.m..5 Maybe he won't be as high for his pmps. At least there is no stress today...hopefully. We're talking Kitty so who knows. Keeping an eye on SS also.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Stick with it, Sev......the a.m..5 Maybe he won't be as high for his pmps. At least there is no stress today...hopefully. We're talking Kitty so who knows. Keeping an eye on SS also.

Prob going to test every other hour. If this works then I can lay off Kitty's ears.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
So far nice slow drop but don't even let Kitty get a whiff of cat food :lol:

HAHAHA!!

I am tempted to give him a little fresh pet. However I want to see what today's curve is without food.
I have not been feeding snacks at night either by the way.
 
Maybe those snacks were messing things up but today looks great. guess Kitty is trying to go for a long duration on this shot. May have to skip tonight but I think I'd drop tonight down to .5 also.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Maybe those snacks were messing things up but today looks great. guess Kitty is trying to go for a long duration on this shot. May have to skip tonight but I think I'd drop tonight down to .5 also.

Kitty was just consulting with me about that very thing.

101_0924-1.jpg
 
IMHO he is still messing with our minds :lol: Who'd thunk he'd go down where he did on .5 but at least it wasn't a stressful day. Don't know about you but I enjoyed the morning today.
 
I'd hate skip a shot tonight with the numbers looking so good.
Have to see where he is at the PMPS.
 
OMG, Blue is gorgeous! How old...kitten right? Is he all Maine or mix? My kind of kitty!!!!

You may have to skip..did you feed them yet? Be interesting to see what the food spike does. Remember, only .5 if you feel Kitty needs it......maybe even .25. Better yet, spin a dial and see what number Kitty puts his paw on.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
OMG, Blue is gorgeous! How old...kitten right? Is he all Maine or mix? My kind of kitty!!!!

You may have to skip..did you feed them yet? Be interesting to see what the food spike does. Remember, only .5 if you feel Kitty needs it......maybe even .25. Better yet, spin a dial and see what number Kitty puts his paw on.

Spin a dial?? AHAHA!!!
I could wait an hour or 2 and give a reduced amount again. Its a lot of changes in dosage though. That little pancreas could be kicking in more.

Tonight I fed him a 3 oz can of Blue Wilderness Turkey. 2 carbs total.

Dont know if Blue is 100%. We feel he is Main. Have not found anything that indicates she isnt. Has short legs at the moment but they take 3 years to mature.
Approx 6-7 months old.
You should see that tail. Its width eclipses the width of Kitty's head.

By the way. Got 100 OneTouch strips for 11 bucks today!! :-D
 
Wait an hr. and see what Kitty gives you but the lower dose of .5 did great today. Yup, Blue still has a lot of growing to do......just gorgeous. Hope he is careful and sticks close by when outside. Coyotes are a main threat here.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Wait an hr. and see what Kitty gives you but the lower dose of .5 did great today. Yup, Blue still has a lot of growing to do......just gorgeous. Hope he is careful and sticks close by when outside. Coyotes are a main threat here.

Have not heard any coyotes here.
Lots of farms. Farmers dont like coyotes.

Wish I was taking more readings in the early AM. I bet there has been some Green in there.
 
Farmers have to see them to do anything and they are very sneaky and elusive. Idiot across rd. shot a deer last year, wounded it but didn't track blood till morning. Well, coyotes caught scent that night and went on the hunt.......thought they were coming through my house. Scared the hell out of the cats, dog being deaf didn't hear a thing. Of course the "idiot" heard from me the next day.....called him a slob hunter and too lazy to track blood in snow in the dark to put deer out of pain. Coyotes probably found the poor thing and killed it.

Be back to check # at 7:30
 
Beautiful babies!!
He most likely went so low today because there was not food involved
I know when Shakes does not eat during the day he will stay low for a long time...
 
dmartini4 said:
Beautiful babies!!
He most likely went so low today because there was not food involved
I know when Shakes does not eat during the day he will stay low for a long time...

That could be it.
I generally feed meat during the day so the numbers dont wobble to much.
That might explain the nighttime duration as well.
 
Okay, 133 and I trust this is after food so wait an hr...let's see if wee pancreas wants to do anything. Heck, you can't shoot at this number anyhow ohmygod_smile so you have to wait.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Okay, 133 and I trust this is after food so wait an hr...let's see if wee pancreas wants to do anything. Heck, you can't shoot at this number anyhow ohmygod_smile so you have to wait.

Retested and got 115.
Not sure which I should go with.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Sev, doesn't matter........too low to shoot so wait another hour. Maybe pancreas is helping also.

Is that the vet I hear in the distance screaming 2 units?????? :shock: :o :o
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
You might as well call it a night or else dab a little insulin on each ear :lol:

:lol:

Well I guess that 115 was the correct reading. I believe I will change it.
 
Geez, Sev....make up your mind.....here or on Health where I just posted :lol: Have a nice relaxing night and because of these numbers Kitty is not giving you any reason to drink. Of course, the stuff Kitty has been doing he might throw a big one at ya tomorrow a.m. No matter what, no more than .5 MAX in the a.m......might not even need insulin. Tell ya, what......I'd print and frame his SS and hand it to that first vet and ask him if he still thinks you should've gone up to 2 units!!!!!! cat(2)_steam
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Geez, Sev....make up your mind.....here or on Health where I just posted :lol: Have a nice relaxing night and because of these numbers Kitty is not giving you any reason to drink. Of course, the stuff Kitty has been doing he might throw a big one at ya tomorrow a.m. No matter what, no more than .5 MAX in the a.m......might not even need insulin. Tell ya, what......I'd print and frame his SS and hand it to that first vet and ask him if he still thinks you should've gone up to 2 units!!!!!! cat(2)_steam

HAHAHHAHAA!!!
I was thinking the same thing.

Now Hope I am just spreading the love around the site. :lol:
 
Great # ......a.m. will be very interesting and might even want to consider .25. I'm betting on the pancreas and not the duration of the insulin. Food should've spiked him up a lot more as it usually did so something in his little body is helping to keep the bg down.

I'll tell ya one thing, Sev......your cat is almost enough to make me take up drinking :lol:
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Great # ......a.m. will be very interesting and might even want to consider .25. I'm betting on the pancreas and not the duration of the insulin. Food should've spiked him up a lot more as it usually did so something in his little body is helping to keep the bg down.

I'll tell ya one thing, Sev......your cat is almost enough to make me take up drinking :lol:

I recommend it.
In moderation of course.

Now where did that bottle of Beam get off to???? ;-) :smile: :-D
 
Kitty Landed at 322 this morning.
Pretty good for not having a shot in 24 hours.
 
Sev, what did Kitty eat this a.m. that shot him up? Wellness didn't seem to do it last night. Totally surprised with his amps though and I see now he is trying for his usual 100 points an hr in the beginning. Hope he slows down and gives you another good day.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Sev, what did Kitty eat this a.m. that shot him up? Wellness didn't seem to do it last night. Totally surprised with his amps though and I see now he is trying for his usual 100 points an hr in the beginning. Hope he slows down and gives you another good day.

I fed him 2.5 oz of Wellness Beef & Chicken Formula.

Perhaps I should buy a few more cans of that Blue Wilderness Turkey.

OH I have a place near me call Pet Partners. I can get 13.2 oz cans of EVO Chicken & Turkey for 1.79.00.
It has a slightly better protein to fat ratio than Wellness. Still only 4 carbs.
 
Geez, it didn't do much last night. If you are cutting out snacks, just make sure he gets enough to eat in the a.m. and p.m. Do you sneek some food to the growing Blue during the day?
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Geez, it didn't do much last night. If you are cutting out snacks, just make sure he gets enough to eat in the a.m. and p.m. Do you sneek some food to the growing Blue during the day?

Blue has 6lbs of EVO Turkey & Chicken Cat & Kitten dry to work his way through. I lock him in the bedroom with it.
 
Re: Good grief..........

Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
just saw his +3......dropping fast again. Toss the coin.......food/no food.......better check in a 1/2 hr, Sev.

Will do.
He should start slowing down now.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
I would definitely give .25 a chance and maybe .5 in the evening if he is at a shootable number....no matter what they number might be.

Well I must say I would be very pleased if the insulin lasted 6 months.

3.5 @ 119.
 
Man, I've been going between SS and board waiting nailbite_smile ........okay......he's slowed down some......did he snack at all? His previous drop was over 150 so thank God he slowed. Don't trust him though. Will check back at 10:30.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top