Davidson - Posting for Amber's new DX kittie

Status
Not open for further replies.
On a side note, Amber the lady my Vet referred to me called and her kittie was at the Vet all day doing a curve. She said he was 432(or so) this morning and after giving 1.5u of Lantus went down to 52 which is a huge drop. He told her, as I did that he is reacting to the insulin and will stabilize in the next day or so. She is doing a test now and will let me know when done. The Vet said to reduce the shot to 1u tonight which I agreed and will monitor and go slow........she will get her SS up and running tonight but she is taking lots of notes and will transfer everything to the SS once she does it.

That's all for now..........

Shawna

Just wanted to link this together :smile:
 
I'm trying to get her to do that...........last conversation was that she left the vet who gave her cat 1.5u Lantus and got a test of 52, she got home and did some tests on a random schedule as best she could and got readings of 44-46 and I told her it was too low and give HC food. Cat wouldn't eat it and said to put some honey or syrup in it's mouth and test again and explained the importance of testing every 30 min due to extremely low numbers. Amber has an 11 month old baby and has to look after her first, so testing on a regular basis is not going to happen.............explained hypo, etc and to get a SS up asap so others can help. Have not heard anything for an hour and hope the cat is okay. She is taking her to the Vet again tomorrow as it needs to get fluids into her as there must be other things wrong........Vet asked her to do this for a few days in a row, so perhaps there is more then I know and our last conversation was that she should not shoot if she still has low numbers.
 
Okay, so I finally figured out how to post a message (it looked so easy when someone else shows you how). I am doing my reading online now that my son is in bed. As Gecko explained, my cat Maggie was at the vets today and they did the curve. Unfortunately, my tester was set for the wrong date and time so the readings that were stored are hard to figure out. As per the vet, Maggie's glucose level was 450 at about 10:30am (eastern standard time), they did numerous test throughout the day and when I picked her up at 4:30pm today they tested her at 52.2. As best I could, I tested her glucose levels:

5:30pm - 52.2
6:00 pm - 46.8 - she would not eat the high carb wet food, so I did a no,no and gave her some dry treats thinking that would be a high carb option which she did eat
6:30 pm - 52.2 - going up but still too low, gave her some maple syrup on her gums (the honey was hard as a rock)
7:30 pm - 55.8 - getting better
8:00 pm - 68.4
9:45 pm - 124.2 - she is higher now, but should I give her insulin?

This is really tough but I do want to do what's best for Maggie. I have an 11 month old baby, and both my husband and I own our own businesses and makes life extremely busy 24/7. Unfortunately our clock doesn't stop at 5pm and our schedules are very unpredictable and hectic so this is not going to be perfect.
 
Hi Amber and a welcome from me too. You have a couple of options tonight. You could either skip and pick up with giving the new lower dose tomorrow back on your regular schedule. Or you could shoot the lower dose tonight, but only if you are ready to monitor, have plenty of strips ( at least 20 ) and some high carb food. If she doesn't like the high carb wet food you have, you can always add a couple of drops of honey, corn syrup, or regular syrop to her regular wet food. I think it would be fine to skip, you don't have a lot of data yet on how Maggie is handling the insulin.
 
Hey Amber........you're doing great and glad the syrup worked. Skip tonight's dose as we spoke about and Wendy confirmed since it's early and you don;'t have the data yet.

Start a new topic with your name and copy this thread in it as I showed you, otherwise me or someone else will do it for you.........much better numbers, at least the rose up now.

Shawna
 
I have decided to skip this insulin dose tonight and start again on schedule tomorrow. I want to see for myself (with my monitor now in order) what her sugars are at in the morning. Her last reading was 144 and I know that is high, but she has had enough for today and she gave me a really hard time with the last reading. So, I don't want to put her through another entire night of readings. She has risen very slow for today so I want to see how the night goes and what the morning will bring.

As I said, I have an eleven month old and I am home with him for the day tomorrow so I need energy for Maggie and for my son.

Maggie seems good and content now and I want to let her settle down.

I will start a new post (time permitting) to try and update on her progress tomorrow. She is going in for another fluids session in the morning so we will see how it goes.

Thank you for your help!
 
If you're using a human glucometer, 144 mg/dL is only slightly higher than normal.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Spoke to Amber and she had a good night with Maggie but was having trouble getting a BG test as no blood was coming out. Maggie was at the vet for fluids again and gave her the shot and the numbers were much better then yesterday, still high but certainly not low and risky like they were and the insulin will now work.

She told me she was using the lancets she had at home and when she checked they ere ultra fine 33 gauge and no wonder no blood was coming out, too fine for out cats since there isn't much blood at the edge of their ears. I explained that to her and sold her a box of the ones I use which are 30 gauge and she should be okay even as a newbie. I also said if she found it hard to get some 28 which are much bigger........she will try to do a SS today and we understand she has priorities with her baby and work..........getting there
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top