Dasher's latest curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
I had the time today to do a curve on Dasher however I'm not sure if he's been on the lower dose long enough to tell us much. The spike I believe came from some kibble I gave him because I was afraid he was falling to low.
I have one more BG to do in two hours , just wondering what anyone thought so far.
 
hi robin!
that 48 earns a reduction. if i were in your shoes i'd reduce dasher's dose to 0.1 unit.
what do you think?



here's a picture of what 0.1u looks like:

01unit-1.jpg



i don't want to jinx anything, but it sure looks like you're going to have a diet-controlled diabetic in no time at all! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Robin,

The 48 you got this morning on the 0.25u means a dose decrease. The next smaller dose is 0.1u. So I would reduce the dose tonight to 0.1u. There are pictures of it on the "New to the Group?" sticky.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.

Dasher's looking fantastic! :mrgreen:
 
Oh my I'm feeling excited !!! I've look at the plunger picture closely , so it's just a smigin off the 0 mark. I thought the .25 was next to nothing , this should be interesting !

Thanks!
 
Jill & Alex (GA) said:
hi robin!
that 48 earns a reduction. if i were in your shoes i'd reduce dasher's dose to 0.1 unit.
what do you think?



here's a picture of what 0.1u looks like:

01unit-1.jpg


:mrgreen:
Starting tonight???
I'm game.
 
YES! absolutely. take the reduction to 0.1 unit immediately.
48 is too low for a newly diagnosed kitty on insulin who is racing down the dosing scale.
 
You've shot .25U at 69 before. One thing you could do is wait 1/2 hour, without feeding, test again and see if Dasher is rising.

Are you going to be home to monitor tonight, have plenty of strips and high carb food?
 
I tested him and then feed him....that's kind of our evening routine. I have plenty of everything if needed but will need to go yo sleep soon...work in the morning. I did not give him his evening shot although I have it on his SS , I was going to lower it tonight as advised but not sure if I should shoot or not knowing I will be going to sleep shortly.
Thinking I should skip it.
 
The curve following a reduction can be an active one. If you can't monitor tonight, I would skip and start his new dose tomorrow morning. Next time, if you get a low number for preshot, try delaying 20-30 without feeding - yes, I know that's hard to do. :lol: Then if he's coming up it'll be safer to shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top