Dasher not responding to insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
We just upped Dasher to 3u as he hasn't responded to the Lantus at all . Don't know what to make of this. I haven't had time to do an SS or test other than pre-shot test, he remains in the mid 200 to hight 200 and sometime the low 300's. Before anyone tells me I need to test more I simply can't . Not sure if anyone remembers how I'll my hubby is and my hands are already too full with caring for him. I will however try and get a mid cycle test to see if he's down ....is there a best time frame I should aim for?
I will say he's eating and drinking and very happy so that's all good.
 
You really needa GB befor shot and with Lantus, another BG at about 6 hours after the shot. Yo want to see how much BG drops.

Are you saying that the preshot BG are " in the mid 200 to hight (sic) 200 and sometime the low 300's."
I myself on test before each shot and very seldom test between shots.
 
Yes, they are amps & pmps numbers. I won't shoot without checking his pre shot number. I will get a 6 hour test in today to see where he's at.
 
We just upped Dasher to 3u as he hasn't responded to the Lantus at all . Don't know what to make of this. I haven't had time to do an SS or test other than pre-shot test, he remains in the mid 200 to hight 200 and sometime the low 300's. Before anyone tells me I need to test more I simply can't . Not sure if anyone remembers how I'll my hubby is and my hands are already too full with caring for him. I will however try and get a mid cycle test to see if he's down ....is there a best time frame I should aim for?
I will say he's eating and drinking and very happy so that's all good.

If you can start getting at least one mid-cycle test in daily, that will help you out quite a bit--it is very hard to determine if a dose is too high or low without the mid cycle test, because too much insulin can cause the pre-shots to be just as high as too little insulin.

What food are you feeding? Is there any dry food in the mix? This can also keep cat's numbers high.
 
We usually increase Lantus by 0.25U amounts if they are seeing numbers in the 200's - you don't want to bypass a good dose and kitties are sensitive to small changes.

Cat's nadirs on Lantus can vary. If you get a 6 hour today, then try mixing it up and get tests anywhere from 4 to 9 hours on other days/nights. I've seen lots of cats start in 300-400 range in preshot and go low mid cycle, which is why we determine the Lantus dose based on how low it takes the kitty. Neko earned her first reduction starting with a preshot of 430.
 
how long has Dasher been on the Lantus? I'm curious b/c my cat spike started on 2 units 2 times a day on the lantus on March 15th and his numbers are not dropping much either. My vet today said to up him to 3 units, but I am not going to b/c just this evening I have transitioned him to a new diet of Purina D/M and fancy feast classic. I think that his glucose numbers might go down a little from his diet change (he was on Urinary S/O food). anyway, I am curious how long Dasher has been on the insulin? ~Spike's mom.
 
I'm sorry to hear about your hubby being readmitted. Sending prayers and healing thoughts for your DH and more :bighug:s for you.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top