Dante update....dosing time advice needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
For now, Dante is being free-fed canned food w/water added. Yesterday he ate over 13oz of food, but that's ok

Anyways, today he's drinking less. His AMPS was 353, gave him 1u

I have a slight dilemma though....I overslept a bit; had planned on giving him his morning shot by 6:30, but it ended up being almost 7:30. I have dinner plans and will be leaving here by 6 tonite and won't be home til after 9.
Didn't want to assume it was ok to shoot him a little early without asking first.


What do you think?
 
Sheri - so sorry I did not see this earlier. What did you end up doing?

Rule of thumb with lev is that shooting early = a dose increase and shooting late = a dose decrease.

In the situation you were in, you could have shot at 6pm and reduced the dose to about .75u and probably have been safe. Then tomorrow morning's shot would be the 1u at 6 or 6:30.

The shot that is early, with the numbers he is still giving you, could probably have been the full 1u with no worries HOWEVER, it isn't unusual for the 3rd shot to have a dramatic result (look at Beau's SS for his 3rd shot of lev, but he had a significant response to his 1st shot and that might be a predictor). Since you would be home by +3, and could test and monitor for a few hours it probably would have been safe.

Making time changes is fairly easy with lev. Once you get him regulated and in tighter numbers you need to be a little more precise about making dose changes for an early shot (that's more than 30 mins early, IMO).

PS - will you be able to get some spot checks in? Those are important at this stage for seeing how the dose is working. Even a "before bed check) at +3 or 4 can tell you something.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Sheri - so sorry I did not see this earlier. What did you end up doing?

Rule of thumb with lev is that shooting early = a dose increase and shooting late = a dose decrease.

In the situation you were in, you could have shot at 6pm and reduced the dose to about .75u and probably have been safe. Then tomorrow morning's shot would be the 1u at 6 or 6:30.

The shot that is early, with the numbers he is still giving you, could probably have been the full 1u with no worries HOWEVER, it isn't unusual for the 3rd shot to have a dramatic result (look at Beau's SS for his 3rd shot of lev, but he had a significant response to his 1st shot and that might be a predictor). Since you would be home by +3, and could test and monitor for a few hours it probably would have been safe.

Making time changes is fairly easy with lev. Once you get him regulated and in tighter numbers you need to be a little more precise about making dose changes for an early shot (that's more than 30 mins early, IMO).

PS - will you be able to get some spot checks in? Those are important at this stage for seeing how the dose is working. Even a "before bed check) at +3 or 4 can tell you something.

sorry for not seeing this, but all is well. I went w/the full 1u
putting up a new post for Monday info
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top