Dante 10/12 AMPS = 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
gonna hold the 2u through tomorrow, and will probably grab a +3,6,9 on him then.

On a "better" note- I let him stay out w/me all night and made Bonsai sleep w/my son. She didn't mind that. But what she does mind is him.
They went nose to nose yesterday and it was fine. Then, she hissed at him when he walked by her. This morning when I let her out of the bedroom, he kinda ran up to her and she got super pissed. I don't think he was gonna hurt her this time. I think maybe he wanted to play or just get to know her, but she wasn't having any of that. He cornered her in a chair, and I squirted them both w/the water bttl til he walked away from her.

Anyways, we got some sleep last night, lol
 
Sleep is good! Probably she wasn't going to wait and find out if he was going to be friendly or attack, if that was what he did last time. It will take her a while to let down her defenses but it will happen if he remains "neutral".
 
Yeah Sheila, can't say as I blame her.

Oh- forgot to mention that ~6:15 this morning, he was sitting in the bathroom sink waiting to be tested :o :lol: :cool:
 
PMPS = 380

we have now completed day 2/ cycle 4 on 2u

will get a +4 or 5 on him tonite......after midnite, I turn into a ******** :roll:
 
Sheri:

Just stopping by to offer moral support and give you some (((HUGS))) for working acclimating Dante into your home, and trying to get his numbers down.

When Pumbaa started on the Levemir, he had good, flat numbers on a lower dose. Then, right before his 6th cycle of 1.0U, he went up to the 300's, and his numbers remained high until around his 4th cycle at 1.75U. So hang in there! It sounds like a stressful time for you, Bonsai and Dante, but things will calm down. Sending lots of positive thoughts that Bonsai and Dante soon figure out that they both share your house now, and learn to make the best of it!

Suze
 
Good to hear that Dante was WAITING for his test time! That really does help the process along.

Sometimes Sneakers will wait a whole half hour on the poke stool just so she can be tested... and get her meal :lol:

Hopefully Dante and Bonsai will soon acclimate to each other better. Sounds like they are on the road to side by side existence if not bosom buddies.
 
Sheri & Spyder (GA) & Dante said:
Oh- forgot to mention that ~6:15 this morning, he was sitting in the bathroom sink waiting to be tested :o :lol: :cool:

Don't you love it when they are TOTALLY with the program? My first cats used to LOVE sleeping in the sinks! It was such a cute visual of them curled up like that!

Good that you separated them at night. I don't know how effective this would be with cats, I've only done it with dogs, but here's what I've done to take the edge off getting along:

Mom was worried about Dom (78#) & Jack (25#) visiting her BIG (110#) black lab Shadow. When we arrived at her house (late at night), I walked my guys in the front yard. She let Shadow out in the back yard. We set up D/J's large dog crate in the kitchen (that they sometimes sleep in together), and put them inside. Let Shadow in to the kitchen. Door closed behind him. They sniffed through the crate, and eventually settled in. Shadow's bed was next to the crate. Next morning - open the crate and let everyone out together. Never had a single issue! By the end of the week, Jack was playing Chase/wrestling with Shadow!

Transferring that to kitties may not be quite as simple, but as long as they have the chance to check each other out while NOT having full contact, the better. Even if it's leaving both in one room, with one crated (room enough for litter box/food/bed). My guys have all transitioned well, as NO ONE typically gets a "private" room here! :lol:

Wishing you continued success with them. And so glad you were able to adopt Dante!

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top