Deb & Wink
Member Since 2013
Danielle & Baby said:Hello my name is Danielle between me and my parents we have 6 cats recently our eldest, Baby was diagnosed with diabetes. She is a 13 yr old calico and had recently received allergy shots which we are contributing to her diagnosis of diabetes. We took her to the vet about a month ago, her first visit her BG was in the 500's she spent the night and received 2units of insulin (lantus) when we brought her home the next day they told us her BG was in the 200's and we were instructed to give her 2 units in the AM and 2units in the PM a week later she was still in the 500's so they increased her to 3units twice a day and instructed us to come back in a week to have her tested again. The next week she was at BG-517 which was slightly lower than the week before so they increased her again to 4units in the Am & 3 units in the PM. Another 2 weeks later (today) her BG was 53 which they said is low but told me told keep her on the 4 & 3 units. As I was talking to the vet tech I met Jamie & Jupiter. We had a nice talk and she told me about this site. She was a little concerned with the instructions I was given so she sent me the link to your site for me to post and chat with you allWe are just really concerned now that her sugar is low we don't want to keep giving her the 4 & 3 units a day for fear of her going into diabetic shock. When I met Jamie & Jupiter she had a RelinOn meter in her car she showed me how to use it and gave it to me so when I got home I tested Baby again just to see what her BG level was and i got a reading of BG-37 so I gave her a little maple syrup waited 45 minutes and her BG was down again to 27 this time, so I gave her some more syrup but I am concerned! After her diagnosis we also changed her food we now give all the cats Merritts(?) We got it at Petco. Its all natural with no grains or carbs! Any suggestions or help are greatly appreciated as we do not want anything to happen to our Baby!
ETA: Split out from Tooloo's post.