theruss
Member Since 2012
Hi all,
Instead of piggy-backing on Robbie the kitty's post from earlier, I decided to start a new thread. I'm running into a similar situation.
It's been exactly 7 days since I started home testing. Dandy was on 6u of Prozinc BID. At this time, I completely dropped dry food from his diet, and dropped his dose to 1u BID. I have been taking a bit of an aggressive approach by moving up his dose .5 every two to three days until it appears that it's having an effect. Since all of these changes, his BG has been pretty flat in the upper mid 200s to lower 300s.
Today is his second day at 2u BID.
I got readings of:
AMPS +10 of 178,
AMPS +11.5 208,
AMPS + 12 (usual PMPS) 176
He was getting very hungry, so I fed him 3oz of low carb, wet food for dinner.
To be safe, I withheld insulin. I'll check BG again in two hours. Does that sound right?
If I check again later and he's still hovering in the high 100s / mid-low 200s, do I just wait until morning, usual time? Do I give him a decreased dose? How about if he skyrockets (not thinking this will happen, but who knows)?
I'm home for the rest of the night, so I could check every couple hours...
Thanks!
R
Instead of piggy-backing on Robbie the kitty's post from earlier, I decided to start a new thread. I'm running into a similar situation.
It's been exactly 7 days since I started home testing. Dandy was on 6u of Prozinc BID. At this time, I completely dropped dry food from his diet, and dropped his dose to 1u BID. I have been taking a bit of an aggressive approach by moving up his dose .5 every two to three days until it appears that it's having an effect. Since all of these changes, his BG has been pretty flat in the upper mid 200s to lower 300s.
Today is his second day at 2u BID.
I got readings of:
AMPS +10 of 178,
AMPS +11.5 208,
AMPS + 12 (usual PMPS) 176
He was getting very hungry, so I fed him 3oz of low carb, wet food for dinner.
To be safe, I withheld insulin. I'll check BG again in two hours. Does that sound right?
If I check again later and he's still hovering in the high 100s / mid-low 200s, do I just wait until morning, usual time? Do I give him a decreased dose? How about if he skyrockets (not thinking this will happen, but who knows)?
I'm home for the rest of the night, so I could check every couple hours...
Thanks!
R