dale pmps 378- +1 380 +2 270 accidentally gave double dose help

Jerica&Dale

Member Since 2021
HI - PLEASE DON'T JUDGE ME.

I think I just gave dale 5 units of insulin. ..

I'm hold with ER vet now, should I be taking him in ??

I can check his sugars every 30 mins. I have all the food and strips. etc.

but I'm so scared that it could be too much... and he could hypo.

What do I do.
Still on hold with ER vet....
 
You aren’t the first and won’t be the last to give too much insulin. Recently someone gave 10 instead of 1.0 see what the ER vet says but it hopefully he will not have a big reaction. If you keep hi, home get a +1 and +2. Post after each test. Let us know what the vet says. How far away is the ER?
 
Okay, just breathe, it looks like you've had a couple cycles where you should have immediately reduced since you got BG under 90, following SLGS. For now, what do you have on hand for high carb and or syrup, and test strips?
 
Okay, just breathe, it looks like you've had a couple cycles where you should have immediately reduced since you got BG under 90, following SLGS. For now, what do you have on hand for high carb and or syrup, and test strips?

HI, I have it all.

The ER did say i could take him for overnight monitoring... $1500 approx

I have all the strips and food and syrup.
I can check his sugars every 30 mins
 
And/Or they said monitor and watch for anything.
Okay, just breathe, it looks like you've had a couple cycles where you should have immediately reduced since you got BG under 90, following SLGS. For now, what do you have on hand for high carb and or syrup, and test strips?


Yes, I have test strips. all types of food. and honey corn syrup
 
How many test strips? You might go through a few. Can you stay up late tonight monitoring?

Please keep the spreadsheet updated.
 
How many test strips? You might go through a few. Can you stay up late tonight monitoring?

Please keep the spreadsheet updated.

I have over 60-70 test strips. I can go get more right now
Or should I just take him to emergency.
what would you do??? im also not 100% i gave him 5 - Thats ramones dose, I might have drawn 2 syringes at 2.5 units.

i just tested him again 21.1 (380)
 
How many test strips? You might go through a few. Can you stay up late tonight monitoring?

Please keep the spreadsheet updated.


and yes I can stay up
spreadsheet should be up to date. I'm not 100percent certain he got the 5. Im so upset with myself right now.

how much should i test
should I give him a bunch of syrup?

or should I just go to ER.
 
I have over 60-70 test strips. I can go get more right now
Or should I just take him to emergency.
what would you do??? im also not 100% i gave him 5 - Thats ramones dose, I might have drawn 2 syringes at 2.5 units.

i just tested him again 21.1 (380)

Sorry, don't see in SS so when is that more recent test? What did you feed at preshot, just usual LC?
 
Breathe. IF you need the ER later will they take him? That should be enough strips.

Yes they said I could take him in later if he starts to crash too much.

ANd @Christie & Maverick yes just some low carb fancy feast pate. 1/2 can, he usually gets another 1/2 can soon ( he's a HUGE eater)

Should I already start the high carb foods?

How often should I test him ? every 30 mins ?
 
Thanks for clarifying, let's see where he is at +1 then, and if you can post, depending on the number we can suggest next test and what to feed. Is his appy ok? We may need to keep him a little hungry if you need to feed later to steer him.
 
I see it now, thank you! I'll be back for +2, and I think there are a few other members here, so don't worry.

Thank you soo much and everyone.

I am so angry at myself right now for making this foolish error. UGH.

I will keep monitoring and posting .

Thank you ALL so much for helping and giving advice.
 
Looks like a good drop, but not crazy, so I'd check again +3. If you can also add any feeding notes, with % carb in the remarks depending on when you feed, that will help too. Might be worth a teaspoon or two of LC now if you haven't given food recently.
 
That’s a big drop again. What percent carbs have you been feeding? Feed a little more of it and see you at +4//
 
That’s a big drop again. What percent carbs have you been feeding?


Should I give some high carb now ?

I did email my vet, and she said I could shoot a large shot of honey.cornsyrup in his mouth every hour...
But maybe i should just take him to the ER ???
 
He’s not so low that you need the ER. He’s was lower by this time a few nights ago.

Yes you're right.

The ER is a 20 min drive from me. I pray I dont have to go there and can get through the night.

Thank you so much for helping me out.
 
Hi Jerica, you are doing a great job. There is no need to panic. He is still above normal numbers. You've got this!

Just to clarify, you fed him 20% HC at +3.5 and +4?
 
Back
Top