dale 09/15 amps 324

Jerica&Dale

Member Since 2021
Hello All,

So increased Dale back up to 2 units on 09/08. Looked like it was going OK, should I increase again? Yesterday and today #'s are pretty high.

Am I giving too much insulin? Did I miss the good dose? He seemed to do OK with the 1.5units in May...

I'm going SLGS.
 
HeY TheRe !

It looks like this evening would be your 7th day on this dose. When we did SLGS, we did a week, then a BG curve and then a dose change. You do have a fair amount of daytime testing numbers though. I'd be interested to see what a +4 or +5 looks like overnight since your little man did that (99) +6 during the day on the 12th....
Since you don't show any nadirs in the 90-150 range here for the past few days- per SLGS you would/could increase.
If it were me, I would plan to increase this evening unless I got a big surprise for my PMPS. If there is anyway to get some more PM testing and random spot checks in - more information is always helpful. That dosing information from May though isn't recent enough to be helpful for a " good dose" necessarily , but it is helpful for looking at trends in how your cat's BGs responds to dose changes, meals etc during a cycle. As they say here ' a good dose is what ever dose your cat needs'.

** Ari**

The SLGS guideline- just for reference and comparison.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
We only look back a couple weeks worth of numbers to see where the dose should go. Way back in May is not longer relevant for where Dale needs to go. He did hit 99 a few days ago, which means holding the dose, since you've seen nadirs in the 90-149 range.
 
Back
Top