Jeremy & Kate
Member Since 2023
Good evening everyone,
Our oldest cat, Dak, was recently diagnosed with diabetes on November 3, 2023. Dak is a medium hair black cat that is 9.5 year old male cat. He is as sweet as can be and loves greeting people at the door. He was diagnosed at the vet clinic, when my wife and I noticed that he had dropped 3 lbs in about 3 weeks (17 lbs down to 14 lbs). He also was not wanting to eat and was not acting himself. His BG reading at the vet was 466 mg/dL. The vet had us start Dak on vetsulin, until we run out of the bottle of Vetsulin (then plan on switching over to human insulin, we are planning on swapping over to Lantus), at a rate of 1.0 unit every 12 hours. We have been doing home BG testing with the Contour Next test strips (human monitor). Dak was on Purina One Urinary Tract Health dry food and we switched over to Fancy Feast Classic Pate wet food, about a week to two weeks are he was diagnosed.
My wife and I wanted to see if you all have any advice or comments on Dak's BG spreadsheet so far, as we are trying to notice a trend, but are unable to at the moment. Today threw us for a loop, as it was the first time we had to skip a morning shot of insulin and was surprised to see his number not spike exponentially when we got to the evening shot time.
Our oldest cat, Dak, was recently diagnosed with diabetes on November 3, 2023. Dak is a medium hair black cat that is 9.5 year old male cat. He is as sweet as can be and loves greeting people at the door. He was diagnosed at the vet clinic, when my wife and I noticed that he had dropped 3 lbs in about 3 weeks (17 lbs down to 14 lbs). He also was not wanting to eat and was not acting himself. His BG reading at the vet was 466 mg/dL. The vet had us start Dak on vetsulin, until we run out of the bottle of Vetsulin (then plan on switching over to human insulin, we are planning on swapping over to Lantus), at a rate of 1.0 unit every 12 hours. We have been doing home BG testing with the Contour Next test strips (human monitor). Dak was on Purina One Urinary Tract Health dry food and we switched over to Fancy Feast Classic Pate wet food, about a week to two weeks are he was diagnosed.
My wife and I wanted to see if you all have any advice or comments on Dak's BG spreadsheet so far, as we are trying to notice a trend, but are unable to at the moment. Today threw us for a loop, as it was the first time we had to skip a morning shot of insulin and was surprised to see his number not spike exponentially when we got to the evening shot time.