Dainty's AMPS 12/11/11

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning all!
Well, got my AMPS today. First test came back as 201...thought that was weird and tested again. Second test came back as 208. Tested with the control solution 2x and got normal results from both tests.. So...... I don't know how she went from 337 +6 last night to 201 (208) six hours later. I'm feeding her right now and she's eating healthily but I'm not sure what to do from here.confused_cat
 
Scratch that eating well. She gave up on her food after a few minutes and is now lying dejected looking in the hall. Not going to give insulin since she didn't really eat anything.
 
Good plan. Work on getting her to eat. Parmesan cheese or tuna fish on top? Heat till nice and stinky? Any treat she really likes that you can sprinkle on top?

The number for preshot was good. The fact that it came down at the end of the cycle may mean the increase was a little too much. Of course, you won't want to shoot until you get a rising number, not influenced by food. If it won't throw you completely off schedule, you maybe can shoot a token dose later this am once she eats and you get a rising number uninfluenced by the food.

Complicating, but does show an increase will lower her numbers and we can work with that.
 
Good call on not shooting. That number would have confused me too! Have you been able to get any other tests since then?

Carl
 
I am going to come home to test at +6 and see where we went. She did end up eating a little bit later in the day, that might have boosted numbers.
 
Great news! And on no insulin too!
OK, don't be surprised if you see a higher number at PMPS time, since she will have been without insulin for 24 hours. Don't shoot more just because it's a high number either. Just see what it is, and post it if you have any questions. We can do this 12 hours at a time until she decides what she wants you to do!
Carl
 
rats, I missed this when you posted.....if you haven't shot yet, I'm looking at the SS right now.
 
I think I might reduce from that 1.6. Dainty got a whole lot of time out of that last dose. I know that in your prior post, Lori recommended you drop back down to 1u and start over with more testing....but maybe somewhere in between 1 and 1.6? Like 1.25 if you can eyeball that? Just that you missed a lot of territory between 1 and 1.6, and I'm wondering if the magic number is someplace in between.
Carl
 
Good, we're thinking along the same lines! Whatever you can eyeball better.... 1.3 or 1.25
 
Yes, they will be much easier for you. Just print out the conversion chart and hang in near where you usually draw up the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top