Dainty 12-1-11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Renegaderem+Dainty

Member Since 2010
I don't even know anymore, I thought Prozinc was supposed to have a gentle slide down into +6 and then again slide upwards over a 12 hour period. But all of her preshots recently have been in the 400's or high 300's. I decided to check tonight to see what was happening in the later hours because her mid range numbers were averaging out only to find that by +9 she had already risen to 413! I am so confused! Is this normal? I've been looking at other people's spreadsheets who are also using prozinc and it doesn't seem that way.I thought ok, maybe that's because Dainty eats half her meal in the evening and the rest halfway through the night causing the later hour spikes but tonight I let her eat what she wanted then pulled the food. Sorry about the panicky tone I just feel overwhelmed by the entire situation. Any insight would be appreciated.
 
After a good solid pout. I've come back to finish my thoughts. Perhaps Prozinc isn't working for her? Should I try something that needs to be dosed more frequently? I've read that Levemir is done every eight hours. Maybe on a shorter time scale would prevent the higher numbers that seem to hang around at the end of her cycle. Am I on the right track with this thought?
 
Honestly I can't make much sense out of your ss either, but I'm still trying to figure my own boy out, too. ProZinc CAN be dosed TID (every 8 hours) and I did that for a while with Cass. I can't tell if that would work for Dainty or not. The reason I tried with Cass was that he would get a good drop, have an early nadir, and then skyrocket. We did TID for about a month, but he ran into overlap problems and we're back on BID now. It would help if you can get a curve in over the weekend (test every 2-3 hours) so we can try and figure out what's going on during the cycle. Hopefully someone else will chime in here with more suggestions soon.

If you're still worried about testing on the ear, there are some other options. You should be able to adjust the setting on the lancet to a lower depth. Some people have been successful with using the pads on the feet. Some use the dew claw higher up on the leg to avoid possible infection with the LB.
 
I don't think we can base any decisions on yesterday. It looks like you missed getting a pmps? Then she went down in the yellows. Possible that there was a low number in there somewhere and the high numbers are a bounce?

Can you get a curve or some more numbers this weekend? That will help us figure things out.

I don't think you can dose every 8 hours with Levemir. It is a similar insulin to Lantus and has a shed. You could dose TID with ProZinc if needed. You could also vary the dose times like Angela and Henry do. Take a look at their ss. She shoots +14 and +10 because Henry shoots up overnight.

Get some numbers and we will brainstorm this weekend.
 
Well first I am thinking you dont have enough data and you have only been at this for about a month
second is that I really think you need more data and need to raise.
I see in the begining you were getting some good numbers from 1.5 and 1.6, maybe if you can get more numebrs
you can start raising and that would help
 
As Saint Sue would say, breeath.

We have several people here who are shooting 3 times a day so it can be done but without more data I wouldn't suggest it.

I think a curve would help fill in some of the puzzle pieces, is that something you could do this weekend?

Then we could put our heads together and try to figure out what is going on with Ms. Dainty.
 
It seems that the overall perspective on the matter is to do a curve this weekend on 1u and then go from there, whether the change be to try her on a more frequent dose or to up the insulin dosage amount, or a mixture of both. :cool:
 
Awesome! you got it!!
do a curve and we shalll she better what is happening and we can help better
 
Well, I'm doing the curve right now, checking every three hours but she's still really high. Barely dropping any from her PMPS. I am wondering if I should abandon the 1u for tonight and give her .4 or .5u more insulin?
 
Well that did not go as planned! I totally fell asleep right before her last test of the curve. Finals studying must have knocked me out! Dainty and I will have to try again Sunday morning.
 
Now that you are getting mid cycle tests we can see how the 1 unit is working for her. Although a curve would give us more information about her onset and when she starts to go back up, all info is very helpful.

You are looking for her nadir to be about a 50% to 65% drop from your PS number.

So by looking at the last few days it looks like you could raise your dose to 1.25unit and see if that lowers her nadir some more.

Keep up the good work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top