Cutie Pie Dosing question

Test her again before you head off to bed tonight. It helps to fill in the picture of what is going on at night. Leave some food out for Cutie Pie to eat if she needs or wants it.
Left food out for her last night, which she finished. I missed your post and didn't get a before bed test. I'll set a reminder on my phone and get it tonight. She tested 6:40 am at 123 so I put more food down and will test again at 8:30 a
 
That is a lovely number to start the day and you both get to relax today. You might want to take one test around midway through the cycle just to see what Cutie Pie is up to but otherwise no testing is needed.
 
Aha! Just tested Cutie Pie at mid cycle (3:00 pm) and she's at 102 !! :D I'll test again PMPS and post her numbers and then at bedtime, too.
 
Last edited:
Did you give her insulin already? If not, then I would skip the shot tonight. That is a far lower pre-shot than you've ever had before and I'm sure you don't want to be up monitoring Cutie Pie tonight.
 
Cutie Pie tested AMPS at 122. She finished the ff I left out for her last night and was ready for breakfast this morning :) Continue with ns?
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry.Just seeing this now. If it isn't too late for you to give insulin, you could give her 0.5u and see how she does. If you give insulin, test her again at +3 to see where she is and monitor her through the cycle depending on whether she is dropping or not at that point in time.
If it is too late, then skipping is fine and we'll see where she is at PMPS.
 
Those are beautiful numbers and especially so with no insulin this morning.:joyful: Her BG dropping like that after her breakfast is great news. Her pancreas is working much better. Unless BG is considerably higher tonight, I'm inclined to say no shot tonight either but let's reserve judgement till we see what PMPS is.
 
Those are beautiful numbers and especially so with no insulin this morning.:joyful: Her BG dropping like that after her breakfast is great news. Her pancreas is working much better. Unless BG is considerably higher tonight, I'm inclined to say no shot tonight either but let's reserve judgement till we see what PMPS is.
Just took Cutie Pie's PMPS and it's 165. She had some FF about 2+ hrs ago and little was left in her bowl when I picked up an hour ago.
 
So that number might be a tiny bit food influenced but not much.

I think at that BG you can give her 0.5u. She earned a reduction with that 86 yesterday morning after her last shot. Test her at +3 and see what she's go planned for tonight. :)
 
So that number might be a tiny bit food influenced but not much.

I think at that BG you can give her 0.5u. She earned a reduction with that 86 yesterday morning after her last shot. Test her at +3 and see what she's go planned for tonight. :)
Gave her the .5u and at the +3 she's at 53. I gave her a tsp of hc FF and will check again in 1/2 hr
 
That's much better. Retest her in 20 minutes and post. We may need to boost her up a bit more but let's see if she's holding or dropping again now.
 
Good! Don't feed her again right now. Test her again in 30 minutes to ensure she is staying up, and if she is, I think you can give her some more food and call it a night. If she is dropping again, then it's a repeat process.
I'll check back in.
 
Good! Don't feed her again right now. Test her again in 30 minutes to ensure she is staying up, and if she is, I think you can give her some more food and call it a night. If she is dropping again, then it's a repeat process.
I'll check back in.
Ok, she’s staying up tested at 30 min at 100. Can she have the lc ff?
 
Last edited:
You are so welcome. We never leave anyone on their own in low numbers till we know everyone's safe. Unwritten policy!;)

I think you could try 0.25u this AM IF you are up to monitoring Cutie Pie should it be needes. Otherwise I would just skip this morning. Those late nights and all the excitement can be exhausting. You have to look after you too because Cutie Pie needs you!

Looking to me like Cutie Pie might be on a mission. Fingers crossed!
 
You are so welcome. We never leave anyone on their own in low numbers till we know everyone's safe. Unwritten policy!;)

I think you could try 0.25u this AM IF you are up to monitoring Cutie Pie should it be needes. Otherwise I would just skip this morning. Those late nights and all the excitement can be exhausting. You have to look after you too because Cutie Pie needs you!

Looking to me like Cutie Pie might be on a mission. Fingers crossed!
We’re going to skip the shot this am She’s in good spirits and is having breakfast. Should I test again midday?
 
fingers crossed.png
Here you go!
 
Hey, it worked! PMPS at 8:10pm is 101 :D:D Looking for food so she got her chicken treat (for the poke in the ear) and 1/3 can l FF.
 
PMPS @ 7:10 is 90. She's hungry so she's finishing the lc FF from earlier and some from a fresh can. Hasn't eaten a lot today, though.
 
Last edited:
Lower BG will diminish appetite to some degree. Cutie Pie is now processing and utilizing the food she eats better because her BG is in normal range. :D Love that PMPS.
 
Lower BG will diminish appetite to some degree. Cutie Pie is now processing and utilizing the food she eats better because her BG is in normal range. :D Love that PMPS.
Absolutely! She’s engaging more with others in the house like she used to. Anything I need to do before bedtime?
 
Cutie Pie is at 103 this morning! :joyful: She finished the food that was left out and was ready for breakfast. She got her chicken treat and 1/3 can of lc FF, which she'll eat some then come back to it. She also vocalizes when she's done with the litter box and when she's back to her bed on the landing. She's a sweetie!
 
The litter box calls are too funny. My girl sings her song of "Mom my box needs cleaning" every time she makes a solid deposit. She's always been a fuss pot about the litter box and even cleans up after her less than scrupulous brothers when it comes to covering stuff up! She's my little housekeeping assistant!
Cutie Pie is doing great. :joyful:
 
Tested at +5 and she's at 74. She had finished the 1/3 can lc FF from this am and ate 1/2 of the 1/3 can I just put down. She was always a free feeder on the previous diet of dry food. I think I should leave some wet food down when we're going to be gone for a few hours (like we just were). Do you think she'll surf until I test her at PMPS time?
 
Cutie Pie is doing great! No need for anymore testing till PMPS. You can allow her to free feed but pull her food 2 hours before you do the AMPS and PMPS tests so they are not food influenced. Otherwise she can munch to her heart's content. :joyful:
 
Cutie Pie's dish was empty 6:40a (I left food out overnight) so I put 1/3 can lc FF down planning to test in 2 hrs. Got grankids off to school and forgot to pick up the dish. Tested at 8:40a and she's at 130. Letting her finish the small amt in the bowl - should I test again in 2 hrs? No shot so far.
 
I'd suggest you test her +3 hours after her last food and see if numbers are down. That 130 is getting up there a wee tad but could just be excitement if grandkids were all excited about school??!!
 
Back
Top