Curvin' it with Orion

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Airway, Jan 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I've been wondering if I should bump Orion up to 3u. Today I'm in the process of doing a curve. We're only halfway thru but thought I'd post early and see if I could get some feedback.

    Also, I'm wondering if it's normal for a kitty on Prozinc to have such a great range throughout the day. Sometimes I see numbers that vary by nearly 200. He will often start at about 400 prehot and be about 200 at +6.
     
  2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good to see you! We usually think of a 50% drop during a cycle to be normal. It looks too high to me (Assuming he doesn't continue to drop later in the cycle) I would increase. And I would increase every 3-6 cycles, depending when you can get midcycle numbers, by .25. IMHO, I think he is sitting too long in high ranges on the same dose.
     
    Kris & Teasel and Rachel like this.
  3. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Thanks, Sue. That has been bothering me too. Too high for too long. My former diabetic was on Lantus and I didn't see such a great drop with him.

     
    Rachel likes this.
  4. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Lantus has a much flatter cycle. ProZinc usually looks like a smile.
     
    Airway and Kris & Teasel like this.
  5. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Ok, that would explain why I'm not used to this!

    Orion's curve is complete, and I gave 3u for his PM dose.

     
  6. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep that's a pretty typical cycle right there!
     
    Airway likes this.
  7. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Well, this is interesting! I've been testing Orion today because I increased him to 3u last night. Everything looked very nice at first, but check out his +10. Is it too early after a dose change to pay much attention to this? What would cause this? :confused:

    @Kris & Teasel @Rachel @Sue and Oliver (GA)
     
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Did you do a repeat test right away? Could be a wonky test strip. Did he get into any high carb contraband this afternoon? Could also be the beginning of a bounce. Hard to say. I'd just carry on to see how it plays out. No cause for alarm.
     
    Airway likes this.
  9. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hmmm...that is odd. I agree with Kris, though. No cause for alarm. It could be a bounce, some contraband, oh look a squirrel syndrome...in the end, it's just one number, one cycle.
     
    Airway and Kris & Teasel like this.
  10. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It could be that he ran a little lower today than yesterday and decided to bounce, but it could also be Rachel's "Oh look, a squirrel!" Just keep muttering to yourself: "Collecting data, collecting data."
     
    Airway and Kris & Teasel like this.
  11. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Orion is my second diabetic. His older brother Triton was on Lantus and has been OTJ for 2 years. He was so much easier to regulate. Orion and I have been at this since August, and if you look at his spreadsheet you can see I've had a hell of a time trying to figure out how much insulin to give him. Is this the result of a different insulin, a different cat, or both? I know this requires patience, but I feel like as soon as we take a few steps forward we take a few back.
     
  12. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Most likely factor right here. :confused:
     
    Airway likes this.
  13. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Then it fits his personality! I love my Orion dearly but he is definitely the most challenging of my trio. He's an expert garbage can raider and cupboard opener.
     
  14. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Small victory for Orion on 3u. His Preshot last night was under 400. :)
     
  15. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, good. Looks like a plan for careful increases as indicated by testing may be the trick. That pink preshot was nice.
     
  16. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Another victory today! We're in the blue at +6. :woot:

     
    Rachel likes this.
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :) !!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page