Curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.

carmen830

Member Since 2017
I just don’t know what to do anymore. I feel as if Tigger is becoming less regulated as time goes by. I have tried to do everything to get him better controlled and nothing is working. Last week the vet suggested he now start 3 units in AM and then 2 units in PM. That didn’t seem right to me because I’ve learned from this forum that Lantus works better in even doses. So I started him on 2.25 in the AM and 2.25 in the PM. I am running his curve today and instead of going down, his numbers are going up. He has not eaten since this morning. I am about to feed him now so I’m sure his numbers will skyrocket. Someone else recommended that I should perhaps lower his dose because his curves are flattening out. I’m so confused. Someone please help me figure out what to do. I’m just so discouraged.
 
Hello Carmen and Tigger!

I'm going to take a whirl at your question. What are you feeding Tigger? Wet or low carb dry?

I don't agree with lowering the dose. If it were too much insulin Tigger would've let you know by now. Increases going forward should be .25U so you don't miss the right dose. Increasing today and doing a curve today won't show you the effects of the increase. That take some time as the depot fills.

Whether SLGS or TR, looking at your SS you should've increased Tigger's dose by now. SLGS you would only hold a week and the lowest Tigger has gone is 181 and any nadirs above 150 warrant and increase. I think if you actively follow one or the other Lantus protocols you'll see some progress. I would familiarize yourself with the stickies and see what method works for you. Then ask away. We all have dosing questions.

I would also check for ketones if you don't already do so.
 
Hello Carmen and Tigger!

I'm going to take a whirl at your question. What are you feeding Tigger? Wet or low carb dry?

I don't agree with lowering the dose. If it were too much insulin Tigger would've let you know by now. Increases going forward should be .25U so you don't miss the right dose. Increasing today and doing a curve today won't show you the effects of the increase. That take some time as the depot fills.

Whether SLGS or TR, looking at your SS you should've increased Tigger's dose by now. SLGS you would only hold a week and the lowest Tigger has gone is 181 and any nadirs above 150 warrant and increase. I think if you actively follow one or the other Lantus protocols you'll see some progress. I would familiarize yourself with the stickies and see what method works for you. Then ask away. We all have dosing questions.

I would also check for ketones if you don't already do so.
Thank you Beenie. Tigger eats FF classic pates and Dr Elseys Clean Protein Chicken. The increase to 2.25 twice a day happened last Wednesday. Do you think that I should now increase to 2.50 twice a day? Or give the 2.25 some more time to build in his system?
 
Thank you Beenie. Tigger eats FF classic pates and Dr Elseys Clean Protein Chicken. The increase to 2.25 twice a day happened last Wednesday. Do you think that I should now increase to 2.50 twice a day? Or give the 2.25 some more time to build in his system?
I would stick with the 2.25 U twice a day for a week (until 10/4). You are right, Lantus likes consistency...well hell we all do:).
Only if Tigger earns a reduction do you change the dose. Since you also feed dry you would follow the SLGS method and reduce the dose if you go below 90. Keep collecting as much data as you can. Determine Tigger's nadir so that you know that you can safely increase on 10/4. So every week you want to hold unless a reduction is earned. If your lowest number is above 150 then keep the .25 increases going. You will eventually hit the right dose.

Here's the sticky which explains http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/
 
If you're comfortable and have the time, post daily for help and support! It really helps you help your fur baby:bighug: I've learned so much since doing so. It was all a confusing blur in the beginning. I would add to you signature that you what you feed, SLGS method and human meter. It helps those you help you with dosing.
 
If you're comfortable and have the time, post daily for help and support! It really helps you help your fur baby:bighug: I've learned so much since doing so. It was all a confusing blur in the beginning. I would add to you signature that you what you feed, SLGS method and human meter. It helps those you help you with dosing.
I will, thank you Beenie. May I ask what may be a really dumb question. What is a cat “condo” on this forum? I’ve seen it mentioned but I don’t know what that is.
 
I will, thank you Beenie. May I ask what may be a really dumb question. What is a cat “condo” on this forum? I’ve seen it mentioned but I don’t know what that is.
:stop:No dumb questions here. Its a lot of lingo to learn and slang to figure out.:bookworm: Here's a helpful post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/l-l-land-slang-dictionary.162551/

cat condo simply refers to your daily thread. Right now this is Tiggers condo for today. Because this forum is so busy we each post only one thread (condo) per day so its easy to keep track. You start with the date, your cats name and AMPS number. You can add to the title if needed as the day goes. I add my numbers throughout the day so its easy to see if I ask for help.
 
:stop:No dumb questions here. Its a lot of lingo to learn and slang to figure out.:bookworm: Here's a helpful post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/l-l-land-slang-dictionary.162551/

cat condo simply refers to your daily thread. Right now this is Tiggers condo for today. Because this forum is so busy we each post only one thread (condo) per day so its easy to keep track. You start with the date, your cats name and AMPS number. You can add to the title if needed as the day goes. I add my numbers throughout the day so its easy to see if I ask for help.
Ok great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top